Les Bons Temps Rouler

My “Run for Your Beads” 5k is Feb 22 and it’s usually colder than a witches **** lol But I love this race. I am hopeful that I can finish it. I haven’t done any running since my surgery except for treadmill and that doesn’t compare to road.

And I registered this morning for St. Patrick’s Day 5 Miler. I love this race and over 13,000 people all dressed in green run through downtown STL. It is a tough run and 5 miles but very festive and fun.

That is what I love about St. Louis. It’s full of runners and partiers! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m a southern lady from Tennessee who loves parties so St. Louis is my baby. I can’t party the way I used to but I can do a dumbed down version.

My husband loves Mardi Gras! And St. Louis has the second biggest Mardi Gras celebration after Nawlins’ (New Orleans). St. Louis is a french city. So we will join the debauchery on Mar 1 in Soulard STL. I usually carry the beads to bargain with girls so Kevin can look at boobs! I’m his wing man! We don’t get to go the actual Mardi Gras (Fat Tuesday) parade because of work the next day. But we live it up on that Saturday before!

My blues have gone away at least for the day. I’m hopeful that my son will find suitable employment soon and they don’t have to struggle so bad. My daughter in law graduates from SLU nursing school in May so hopefully things will get better for them. They have plenty of family (including us) who will help them along the way.

I feel skinny today so that always lifts my spirits…or maybe it’s vice versa that my good mood makes me not as critical of my body.

I bagged up all those fucking cookies in my cabinet and put them upstairs out of my sight! I cannot continue to do that. I haven’t done that for years and now that I paid $20 grand for a body overhaul, why am I loading up with cookies? So…cookies are gone. I opened my cabinet this morning and several bags of different cookies stared me in the face. I actually did feel ashamed of myself.

I should do the 21 day challenge of no sweets but Mardi Gras is coming up soon and I love King Cake!

I am starting March with 21 day “No Junk Food” challenge and Squat/AB challenge. Tonight is my cardio plus 75 squats and 75 crunches.

We are staying home in Columbia this weekend so that will help with the desire to suck down bloody mary’s and overeat on cajun food! I’ll be a good girl this weekend.

I did good at dinner and no cheating on sweets! I caught up on “The Following” and showered and now watching the Olympics.

-Treadmill 30 min
-75 squats
-75 crunches

(King Cake)

20140211-121245.jpg

2 thoughts on “Les Bons Temps Rouler

    1. They are actually a simple cake that’s decorated with colors of Mardi gras: yellow, purple and green. It’s a traditional cake that celebrates catholic Epiphany. I’m not catholic but I love good parties! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

