Running for Beads

My first 5k of the year was this morning. It was the annual “Run for Your Beads”. It was a beautiful day in St. Louis and people in Soulard were ready to dress up, party and run. I felt right away that I wouldn’t be able to run the entire way since my surgery and no real chance to run since then. So, I invited Daniel to run with me and we had a great time! As usual, he stole the show and when we did get to the finish line, so many people were cheering that charismatic little 6 year old who finished a 5k. It was awesome. Women were giving him beads and wanting their picture made with him. It was challenging for me to keep him encouraged along the way to keep going. We did stop so he could get water and of course we stopped where the Anheuser Busch Clydesdales were outside grazing. And he stopped to get beads that were thrown his way. He even wore my Ipod and headphones. I think he liked running with music. I had a great time. We then all went to breakfast at Hammerstone’s where all of Soulard was out early celebrating Mardi Gras.

Kevin and I kept Sadie for a few hours so the kids could take Daniel to see the Lego Movie. We took her in her stroller for a nice walk through the neighborhood and she had a great time. It’s so awesome to witness babies discovering things with their eyes. When we got home, she took a long nap and woke up in the best mood.

Daniel wanted to spend the night again so he and Popeye (Kevin) are playing Batman II on the Play Station and the dogs and I are curled up on the couch.

I had a good day…

I am as sore as when I ran the half marathon. I really have to get back into routine road running. I’ve missed it ๐Ÿ™‚

20140222-201506.jpg

20140222-201522.jpg

20140222-201534.jpg

20140222-201545.jpg

20140222-201554.jpg

4 thoughts on “Running for Beads

    1. It hurt like hell from the doctor digging around in it but he found loose sutures and took them out and he said should heal just fine. I bandaged that place up before the run and it did fine. Thanks for asking…and I had a great day. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

