Go! St. Louis

Go! St. Louis Marathon FInisher Medal 2014
Go! St. Louis Marathon FInisher Medal 2014

Last year on April 7, 2013, I completed my first half marathon. It was the Go! St. Louis. When I crossed that finish line…that was in the top 5 highlights of my life. I know that sounds dramatic but it was. I was hurting, my feet were bleeding, my calves and quads were cramping, I was crying and I was euphoric.

So, this race is near and dear to my heart. I really thought that I’d be doing the marathon this year in Go! St. Louis but when I chose to have the lower body and arm lift surgery Dec. 19, I knew that probably would not happen. So I satisfied myself by saying that I’d do my 1st marathon in Chicago later this year.

I’ve been getting these emails to register. I can see the t-shirts and medals and I am heartsick that I will have to register for the 5k instead of either the half or the full. I really feel like crying. How can I run a 5k in a race that I ran 13.1 miles in last year????? Even if I could join the 4 man relay, I’d feel some satisfaction but other than my husband, I don’t know 2 other people who run. That’s sad, huh?

I still haven’t registered because I really want to do the half again but my husband clearly stated that he is not ready for that this year. I’m not even sure that I can run a 5k. And I have the St. Patrick’s Day 5 mile on March 15! Yikes!

My scar wounds on my hips look much better today. 🙂

Today is day 2 of my “No Sugar, Junk or Fast Food” challenge but I feel like eating donuts but I’m being a good girl.

King Cake Donuts!
King Cake Donuts!
2 thoughts on “Go! St. Louis

Leave a Reply

