24 Hours

It’s funny how life can change or at least your perception of it can change so quickly.

Yesterday, I was at the top. Running, eating and feeling young and well and enjoying my fortunate life. That changed with a phone call from one of my younger brothers. It was his birthday and I had left him a message on Facebook. He lives in Alabama and I am in Missouri. He called which was unusual because we are texters.

He told me that he has a ailment that will drastically cut his life short and no cure for it. He said a year and half at the most. I’m heartsick and have been crying a lot. I hurt for him. He sounded so strong and I sounded weak. He has always had the best nature and heart of us all. Why him?

I had forgotten what was important and I regret that.

~Heartbroken~

12 thoughts on “24 Hours

  1. My thoughts and prayers are with all of you. Do NOT give up hope! And don’t let him either. My brother too has an incurable disease, but it was treatable. They told him if it came back a 2nd time that was it. Well, it did, but he didn’t quit, and I’m happy to say I still have him and it’ll be 10 years since his diagnosis, this May. So, we’ll just all keep praying and praying that this will just be a bump in the road and that everything will be ok. Love, hugs and healing prayers coming your way! {{{HUUUUUUGGGGGGSSSSS}}}

  2. I’m so sorry, Charlotte. I know what you’re going through. I recall sitting on the couch with my sister after she was diagnosed with brain cancer. We were looking through our childhood photos and she turned to look at me and said “I don’t want to die”. It’s heartbreaking and there’s no real escape other than faith. I’ll say a prayer for him.

Leave a Reply

