And They Call it Puppy Love

I just really want to blog about my dogs today.

It’s no secret to anyone who knows me that I love my dogs (Peyton and Eli) in a way that cannot be explained. Of course I love my 2 grandchildren infinity plus 200 million (a thing with Daniel and me). But the love I feel for my dogs make me a better person. I have my dogs tattooed on my shoulder for pete’s sake! It is actually a love I cannot explain especially to non dog people.

I have never really been a dog person. I loved horses but other than that, all animals were the same to me. I had a black German Shepard named “Baby” when I was a young girl that I loved more than I loved my human family. His mother died when he was less than a week old and we raised him on a baby bottle. He was killed by a car before he was a year old and that day will never leave my memory. He died in my mother’s arms as she cradled him in the middle of the road with all 4 of us kids crying our hearts out. We gave him a burial and I remember people in our community laughing at that silly family that gave their dog a funeral and spoke at his burial. I’m crying just typing this. I have no pictures of Baby but I remember exactly what he looked like.

I hardened my heart to dogs at that point and never wanted another one. I had a few dogs in between but I did not love them.

Fast forward to August 2009. My husband wanted a dog more than anything in the world. He doesn’t have kids of his own but he too was haunted by a dog he left behind in Buffalo, NY when he and his family moved to the Bay Area in Cali. That dog was named “Chad”.

He kept practically begging me to allow a dog in our lives. I just couldn’t tolerate the smell, the hair, the pee pee puddles, poop on the floor and claw scratches ruining my $15,000 hardwood floors.

The first time we sat Peyton on the floor at our home, he pottied on my area rug. I knew my life as I knew it was over! When he grew bigger and while out doing a potty, he jumped the fence in the backyard in almost knee-deep snow and I had to try to go catch him running around the neighborhood. I wanted to get rid of him. He was a constant thorn in my side. I would pet him and take care of him but I didn’t quite love him. My husband adored him. Kevin might possibly be the best doggie daddy in the world and I say that with sincerity.

I had leg surgery in 2010 and while I was recuperating, Peyton rarely left my side. He knew I didn’t like him the same as his daddy did but he seemed to put that aside and took care of me. He would nuzzle me and lay his head on my lap, stare at me and never take his eyes off me. I fell in love with Peyton. I love him now like he is better or at least more special than a human. And to me, he is.

I can’t or thought I couldn’t love but one dog at a time. I only had one kid because I worried I couldn’t love another. It was the same with dogs. I would never love another dog or treat him the way I treat Peyton.

Then a year and half after Peyton, on our wedding aniversry, came a little fat ball of brown fur named “Eli”. We got him at 6 1/2 weeks. I loved him immediately. I love him in a different way than I love Peyton. Peyton brings me comfort, Eli makes me laugh. Eli is a 85 lb awkward dog with greenish eyes. Peyton is a 85 lb sad looking boy with amber colored eyes.

Daniel named our new baby “Eli Bitey Thomas” Thomas is for “Thomas the Train” and “bitey” because he was bitey! πŸ™‚ I gave them the names Peyton and Eli for obvious reasons for people who know I love football.

I know if I live long enough, I’ll lose my babies. But thinking of that day sends me into a weird depression with tears streaming down my face. I cannot imagine my life without them.

They are well cared for, loved, pampered, exercised and not as disciplined as they should be. I can’t even scold them anymore. πŸ™‚

They have taught me many things. How to be kinder, patient, loving, organized, calmer, happier and on and on…

I can’t wait each day to come home to them. When I walk on my porch, my heart rate goes up when I hear their pitter patter feet anxiously waiting at the door and a loud bark from Eli. When I open that door, I get a heroes welcome that every soldier deserves when he comes home. You bet your ass I love that! No one does that for me but them.

I know that a lot of people frown on buying dogs from breeders. I get a bit pissed off that people would look down their noses that my babies are not “rescued” animals. I worked with rescued animals, I donate to them and it’s wonderful to save a dog. But my dogs needed a good home too. They didn’t ask to be born and I didn’t put in an order them. By some miracle, I just found them and paid for them to come to my home.

I rescued my dogs and they saved me.

I know my Mama (in heaven) smiles down knowing that stinky dogs run my life! I used to berate her for her silly love of dogs! πŸ™‚

My dogs own 2 humans…

Now, my house is covered in brown hair, muddy paws jump on my clean bed sheets, my once beautiful backyard looks like horses run around in it and my hardwood floors look like shit but I thank God they came into my life.

~BuhBye~

484331_10151570667390505_391394883_n

156068_10151570528695505_1704081745_n

10 thoughts on “And They Call it Puppy Love

    1. They are a lot of work, expensive vet visits, great responsibility but will enchance your life! And with the right dog, they are great running partners. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the comment.

  1. I’ve had many furry babies over the years, and have cried over losing many, and still do from time to time. At least we have our memories of those we’ve lost and know we’ll see them again one day. πŸ™‚ And the ones we still have, we get to keep creating memories and love until our time together here on earth comes to an end. Gotta love those furry babies!!!!! :o)

Leave a Reply

