From Dairy Queen to Lean

Best Thing I've Ever Eaten..hands down
Best Thing I’ve Ever Eaten..hands down

It’s been 3 months since my plastic surgery. I had the circumferential body lift and brachioplasty (arm) lift for people who don’t know. After losing 131 lbs I splurged and got that extra skin removed and parts tightened up from a wonderful and talented plastic surgeon! You can see my 6 pack abs now! Well, maybe a 4 pack. 🙂

Time for an update….

I suffered much more right after the surgery than I anticipated. I’m a tough girl so I always think I will recover miraculously. I was wrong, I’m so very human! 🙂

It was a long process of healing but I can tell you that I couldn’t be happier.

Outside of some of my wounds separating a bit and not healing as fast as I wanted, I feel great. And….I look great if I have to say so myself. 🙂 Now, I’m not a bikini ready body but I love my flat stomach, tight butt and thighs and small arms. Dr. Boswell (St. Louis) is a great surgeon who specializes in circumferential procedures and doing multiple procedures in one operating room setting.

I still have a couple of places that have not healed completely. One is on my left hip and the other is under my right arm.

As of today, I have lost 131 lbs by changing my eating habits and exercising and especially running. From 288 lbs. in 2009 to 157 lbs. today. Most of my weight loss came in 2010. I did find out that the smaller you get, the harder to take off pounds. Those two simple things changed my life: diet change and running.

I still can’t believe what I see when I look in the mirror. At first, I actually didn’t recognize myself but as years went by I slowly stopped seeing myself as a fat girl. Now I’ve just moved on to thinking I need better boobs! 🙂

I feel my stamina is coming back on my runs. I will say that was my biggest disappointment besides the damn 4 drainage tubes coming from my lower tummy after the surgery, was not being able to run and having to start back from zero. I don’t think I’m being arrogant or shallow (or maybe I am) when I say that a big part of my identity is being a runner.

I hear people at work whisper or even to my face talk about how obsessed I am with what I eat and exercise, running etc. “Why in the world would someone want to run?”, “Haven’t you lost enough weight?”, “Do you ever eat?”….I try to be good-natured with my answers or joke it off but many times I want to be rude.

One woman who says those things to me has told me that she doesn’t understand why she is so big (~300 lbs). She says she doesn’t eat hardly anything. Yeah, I’ve said that before too. One morning for breakfast in the cafeteria, she was eating a huge Dairy Queen Blizzard. Ok, now we know why. BTW, Pumpkin Pie Blizzards at the DQ are to die for during the fall season.

I discovered that eating often/much and eating high calories are 2 different things. I used to think I didn’t eat much that day but ate a double whopper and large fries! That was an entire calorie day for me….in reality.

I’m 54 and feel like I’m 30…oh, yeah…I’m obsessed. I’m obsessed with living longer and feeling better. Looking awesome in my clothes is just an added benefit.

~obsess this!~

9 thoughts on “From Dairy Queen to Lean

  1. You’ve done so fabulously! I hope those two wounds that keep separating heal up soon so you can fully get back into everything! I know it feels like you started at square one again with running, but you picked up your miles pretty quickly 🙂

    As for your story about your co-worker, I think we all know someone like that. They really have to be willing to lose weight before they can see that just because they are only eating once a day, doesn’t mean they are eating low calorie.

Leave a Reply

