Running is Mental; Sleeping is Healing

It's great running toward the Arch with the sun coming up
It’s great running toward the Arch with the sun coming up

A couple of quotes that I like:

“Running is a mental sport…we’re all insane.” – Seen on a runner’s T-shirt

“Long distance running is 90% mental and the other half is physical.” -Rich Davis

When your body is exhausted and you want to walk, rest or quit, it’s the mental that takes over. I think running long distances teaches you more about who you are than what you can do. That’s possibly why it is so satisfying to me. I’ve never pushed myself mentally in my entire life…I don’t think. Maybe in college but it’s not the same. But when I run, some other woman takes over! I have pushed through pain, rain, snow, tears, heat and hills. When I can’t go any more, I go further.

I found so much to be inspired about during my 13.1 miles. I saw all kinds of people…all races, sizes, sexes all doing what I was doing. I think group running is a wonderful motivator. When I thought I was ready to stop, some 70-year-old lady or a man in a wheelchair blaze past me. I see people obviously struggling. The crowds who cheer add extra motivation. I found myself smiling quite a bit at some of their signs.

It can be something very small such as a little kid on the side holding our his burger for people to take or elderly people handing out hard candy. I saw one man in several spots along the course with a huge afro (wig) playing some kind of bells and a sign that says “Doubters Can Suck It” πŸ™‚ “Don’t Worry, My Crotch is Sweaty, Too!” πŸ™‚

One water station was manned by military in uniform. That was very cool. πŸ™‚

Not to mention how beautiful the architecture is in St. Louis and how running through the streets give an intimate view of the city. You feel like you are part of it and at the same time you have never noticed it. I drive by these places many times and never appreciate how beautiful they are.

I am so proud of a city, St. Louis for one, that comes together for the health of it’s people and especially it’s children and do those extra things that make those kids care about fitness. Go! St. Louis is a year around running and health event. It does many runs, marathons and relays. The family participation in phenomenal.

St. Louis is a city of baseball lovers, beer makers and runners…

And “Holy Hill” (as it is lovingly called) has the most beautiful, old buildings in St. Louis.

“If the hill has its own name, then it’s probably a pretty tough hill.” – Marty Stern

I will be attempting the full marathon in October. I am even more inspired to do that after seeing the marathoners yesterday. Kevin and I were back in our area of St. Louis enjoying a nice lunch and the marathoners were still running through our neighborhood. I have such admiration for marathoners because I know what it feels like to do a half.

“Any idiot can run, but it takes a special kind of idiot to run a marathon.” – Unknown (love this quote)

You know you are a runner when you are in pain after running 13.1 miles, and all you can think about the next day is running and you finally sign up for that Rock ‘n Roll Marathon in St. Louis, MO! πŸ™‚

Last night when I went to bed, I could hardly walk or move. All through the night I could still feel the effects of running 13.1 miles. I really thought I’d be calling into work today because I could hardly walk. But, I also remember feeling that way after my last 2 half marathons last year and always go to work the day after.

Sleep is a miracle healer. That’s my conclusion.

I woke up a bit stiff and a bit of lower back pain but feeling great otherwise! I wrote a few days ago about the miracle of power naps and sleep tops the naps!

Tonight is day #21 of the Squat Challenge ~ 150 big ones!

One more rambling thing before I sign off. M&M makes a Carrot Cake M&M! Mary, Holy Mother of Jesus! I’m off sweets but maybe I can get a bag of these for Daniel ;-)~~~

How can these not be good?
How can these not be good?

~Adios~

3 thoughts on “Running is Mental; Sleeping is Healing

  1. There’s a lot to learn in every race — glad this was no exception. It’s encouraging to see that you want to bump up the distance to the full marathon in October. Why not also run the Go! version next April? I was out there on Sunday, running the full for the first time, and it was every single bit the challenge I was expecting. The beautiful weather certainly made it a fun day to remember. Congratulations!

    1. I would like to run the full in Go! in April also. I know it must be challenging. I drove the route once to check it out. The half was challenging enough and especially during Holy Hill. My quads were burning! I have so much admiration for you marathoners. I hope I am one of you by the end of the year. Thank you for commenting. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

