Runner Hatin’

Me! :-)
Me! πŸ™‚

I’ve done nothing today but read about marathons and plan my training schedule! Please don’t tell Mr. Tall Poppy.

Yes…I’m obsessed. This happened with my first half marathon on April 7, 2013. Before then, I didn’t really think I was a runner. I didn’t even think I was a runner after I finished the half. I was hurting and euphoric at the same time at the finish line, but I still didn’t feel like a runner..exactly. I knew I was a runner the next day when I couldn’t stop thinking about it and couldn’t wait to run again. I ran a couple of days after that 13.1 It dawned on me then that I was a runner.

Well, multiply that feeling times 100 now because I have not been able to stop thinking about it since Sunday.

I rested Monday and Tuesday I felt like doing my kettlebell workout. I’m pretty sure I will run tonight, only if a mile or so.

I have my marathon training scheduled planned out which starts in earnest on June 17th. I think I have decided on Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training. It will be tough but I have to do it. I’ve read others so I’m not completely set on it but I have calendars all marked up in my office at work! πŸ™‚

You know what sucks, I can’t talk about running out here because people look at me like I have a third eye. Tuesday Mr. Tall Poppy made a funny runner’s joke (at my expense) in one of our meetings. I hate that shit and I’m smart-assed enough to come back with something but I have to be careful or I’ll be labeled as an emotional female.

I was talking about the race to someone when he came into the room and quipped “I don’t know why anyone would run unless someone is chasing them” and the crowd roared with laughter. Oldest, sad-assed lame runner joke around, really. All I said was “you can surely do better than that”.

So today, just to piss him off, I wore my sweeeeet Nike Tech shirt that says 13.1 Go! St. Louis Half Marathon. He’s careful not to comment on my attire because he knows that will piss me off in a way that will cause great embarrassment….to him.

I’ve also noticed that many people in cars are not very nice to runners. I’ve noticed that often. I used to think people made faces or sped up to cause me to have to stop at intersections because I was a fat girl runner (paranoia) but now that I look awesome :-), I still see it and mainly from women. That really makes me sad more than upset. I try to be a courteous runner and watch traffic and stop if I am in doubt that a car will stop. I don’t understand that. When I was big, I never felt that way to runners. I always envied them and a bit jealous but not hateful. Not to mention snide comments I see sometimes on facebook about people posting about exercise especially running.

Anyway, I currently wear a heart monitor when I run that only calculates heart rate and calories burned but I’m looking to invest in a more expensive Garmin. I’m doing some reading and comparing.

I want one of these: Forerunner 220 and 620 (I think)
I want one of these: Forerunner 220 and 620 (I think)

I spend a fortune on races, shoes, under armour and runner gadgets. This is not a passing fancy for me. I’ve been running now since May of 2010.

160 squats tonight. I think I’m getting a booty. My under armour running pants didn’t start falling down off my ass during the race Sunday! HA!

~Run it Off~

7 thoughts on “Runner Hatin’

  1. Charlotte, you are AMPED! Don’t worry about the naysayers. He’s probably jealous that he’d never be able to get past the first mile. The best way to rub it in is to just do it. Plus, you’ve already seen the fashion benefit of being a runner now that you don’t need suspenders. πŸ˜‰

  2. I love my Polar RC3 GPS, comes with a HRM, counts calories burned, it has GPS for running and cycling, plus two other options so you can wear it when you walk or when you do a gym workout to know how many calories you burn there as well.

  3. I’ve noticed various forms of “Runner Hatin” too. Agitated motorist, jokes/comments about running being stupid/crazy, or being annoyed/ranting about the weird things runners do (Like put 13.1 and 26.2 stickers on our cars). It really doesn’t make sense to me. I get running not being someones thing, but being annoyed by someone who is just doing something they enjoy…. I can’t even count how many times I’ve heard the “I’d only run if someone is chasing me.” joke. Oh well, to each their own! I chose not to let the nay sayers bother me and do my thing. It’s awesome to see you are doing the same! I just found your blog, it’s unbelievable the lifestyle changes you’ve made over the last 4-5 years! You really are an inspiration! πŸ™‚

  4. Yeah, I had someone take my 13.1 magnet off my car! Hey, I earned that! πŸ™‚ I bought another πŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment. I started this blog hoping to inspire people to loose weight and get healthy. At almost 300 lbs and almost 50, I thought if I could do it, surely others can. I want others to feel as good as I do. Thanks again πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

