Gone Fishin’

We kept Sadie last night while her daddy worked, mother studied and her brother was at a play date. She is never still! We took a stroll in Forest Park and it started raining. Luckily, we were not too far from home.


10150731_10152387013190505_5202213548210401241_n


We met up with the kids + Daniel and ate dinner at Llwelyn’s in CWE. Β Daniel fell a sleep in my lap at the restaurant. πŸ™‚ He spent the night and we woke up early, had breakfast and set off with Popeye (Kevin), Peyton and Eli and me (I’m Momeye) to explore Forest Park.


Daniel
Daniel

Popeye and I bought Daniel his first rod and reel and tackle. We went to a bait shop for fishing license and live bait! (Crickets).


1907631_10152389006640505_2721594969710595976_n


He told me a few weeks ago he wanted to go fishing and had never gone. His mommy had to do her 12 hour clinical at the hospital. We met up with his daddy and Sadie at Jefferson Lake in Forest Park and Popeye taught him how to bait a hook and cast a line. Daniel was pretty good except for the putting live crickets on a hook. I did that for him.


Daniel

Daniel


He didn’t like putting the cute little crickets on the hook so we eventually let them go run free and he used a pink, wiggly lure to put on his reel. Of course we didn’t even get a bite but that wasn’t even the point of fishing with a 6 year old, was it? He even said that it was more fun than Pokemon! Daniel did strike up a friendship with a man who had caught a pretty big catfish.

We had picnic and a wonderful time watching Daniel casting his line. At one point he said it was kinda boring. I explained that fishing was “thinking time” and he said he was going to think about girls! πŸ™‚


10273511_10152389001425505_8981149428226343642_n


I saw so many people running today in the park and I got that runner’s jealousy when we are not running but see others running. I didn’t run today and didn’t eat very well. I’m tired and happy as a clam.

The Blues lost..I didn’t watch the game. I just couldn’t. It’s just as well, I couldn’t stand anymore heartbreak! Now, on to my St. Louis Cardinals.

It was a great weekend….now back to Hell! HA!

~Go Fish~

 

4 thoughts on “Gone Fishin’

  1. I’ve never used crickets for fishing before. Is that for fly fishing? It looks like you had a great day today. Sorry about the Blues. I really am. I’m a long suffering SD Chargers football fan and I don’t care if they ever win the superbowl. I’ll always be a fan. Have a great night!

    1. It’s been so long since I fished I just remember we used crickets for crappy. I’m going to do some more research to better help Daniel catch that first fish! The guy beside us was using something stinky and peanut butter like and was catching catfish. I don’t think Daniel will go for putting anything live on a hook anymore! πŸ™‚ Blackhawks were and are a better team. I’m pulling for SJ Sharks now. My husband is from San Jose…so I should. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

