A Pain in the Glutes

Until today, I had only gotten 9.15 running miles in and my weekly goal during May is 20 miles per week. That will increase as I start my scheduled marathon training.

My usual long run is on Saturday but 11 miles was more than I wanted to do this Saturday.

I am working on my speed a bit and it’s been working. I usually run with shorter strides and that’s not easy on the body to try to speed up with short strides so I’ve been stretching out my strides a bit and I was enjoying it and it was working….until on Wednesday, my butt (gluteal) muscle felt tweaked. I thought it was a high hamstring but today I found out different.

I’m pretty sure this is because I don’t stretch properly before a run…lesson learned?

I worked 4, walked the dogs, visited the dentist for a check up and needed to run.

I started out on my 6 mile run and it’s not an easy one with many steep inclines. I felt the muscle pull more. I ran my first 3 miles at 26.5 minutes but struggled a little bit with the last 3.  It was a beautiful day and I did enjoy the run.

My painful but nice run :--)
My painful but nice run :–)

I have had that happen before and it’s hard to heal because you always use your butt muscles! 🙂

s_gluteus

So tomorrow, I need 5 miles to complete my goal but Kevin wants to do 7….I’ll see how my butt holds out!

If I can make it through my run tomorrow, I will need a couple of days off to try to heal that booty! It doesn’t hurt very much until I start inclines or hills and there were many on my run today.

I’m sitting on an ice pack as I type!

We are staying in Columbia this weekend and I’m looking forward to it. I may do some runner shopping this weekend. We have an awesome new runner’s store here that I just have to check out.

Mama needs a new pair of shoes or two!!!…. and compression shorts and Garmin and hydration belt and runner socks and fuel! 🙂

 

Just posted on RunJunkEes and so appropriate for me today
Just posted on RunJunkEes and so appropriate for me today

 ~Kick Booty~

13 thoughts on “A Pain in the Glutes

  1. We’re only two days in to the month so no worries on how many miles for the week. I’m sure that next week you’ll exceed your expectations! 😀 I hope you’re feeling better quickly, that’s just NOT fun! ;:( And I vote for two pairs of shoes! I love shoes! hahaha 😀

      1. I’m sooooo ready, but trying to be patient! haha I’m feeling pretty darned good today! Best day since surgery! 😀 Don’t forget to show us your shoe choices! Who knows, it might be 3 pair! 😀

  2. Don’t say ONLY. I ran up the staircase a few times and was getting tired! lol You’re doing amazing. I think mama is entitled to a nice day of shopping at the new store!

  3. Sounds like you’re doing great with the 9+ miles so far this week. hang in there and don’t push yourself too hard.

    1. Thanks! I did manage to get in 6 today. That just leaves me with 5 to meet my weekly goad. I’m training for full marathon in Oct so my real training doesn’t start until June. I’m a bit worried about that tweaked glute! ~Run on 🙂

Leave a Reply

