California Dreaming

After a good night’s rest last night, I feel great today. I am back to my energetic..cheery and so friendly self! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I do feel rested and better today. That’s good since I have to run tonight. The weather is great and maybe a little too warm for me since I am a cold weather runner but I’ll try to pound out a short 3 miles tonight.

And, I do have that new Garmin and I need to get to know it better.

I am now starting to re-think my marathon training plan. It’s just like me to pick one and take the time to schedule it all out until Oct 19th and then read one that I like better! I am planning on training to Hal Higdon First Time Marathon program.

But as I’ve looked over the Garmin training plans, I may like them better. I dunno….I’m wishy washy.


There are 2 places in this country that I’d rather vacation at than maybe anywhere in the world: Santa Cruz/Bay Area in CA and Taos, NM!

Work has been so stressful and I have tons of vacation time so my mind has been in California all day. I was even looking at Santa Cruz pictures earlier….I couldn’t resist posting some of them.


Me before the Eddie Money concert on the Beach

Me before the Eddie Money concert on the Beach


Kevin and I usually go on a 2 week vacation to the Bay Area, particularly Santa Cruz, Carmel, Monterey…but we do not plan to do that this year.ย ๐Ÿ˜ฆ A few things are making us hold off on a vacation this year

(1) I hate leaving Peyton and Eli for so long..they become very stressed in the “Bed and Biscuit” for 2 weeks.

(2) I paid $20,000 for my surgery in Dec…I know…OUCH!

(3) Marathon Training will be hard to do while laying on the beach and getting wasted for 2 weeks!

(4) And San Francisco Clam Chowder in a Sourdough bread bowl (and all the delicious seafood) can sure add a few pounds to the waistline.


I do usually run everyday on the beach or another area but that’s usually for pleasure not training.


I loved this beach just north of SC

I loved this beach just north of Santa Cruz


But I can’t get my mind off how much I want to beย in SC. One day, Kevin and I will be living there. Kevin is from that area and I am a wannabe from that area! ๐Ÿ™‚


My Tattoo Guy in Santa Cruz, Tim Buonagario at Bad Omen Tattoo

My Tattoo Guy in Santa Cruz, ย Tim Buonagurioย at “Goodย Omen Tattoo

Tim has done every one of my 3 tattoos. He will do my next one. I feel like he is a friend and a he is a fine character! ๐Ÿ™‚


The sea lions are my favorite part of SC

The sea lions are my favorite part of SC


We always stay at the same place with beach front view. We were awakened every morning by waves crashing and sea lions barking. You can even see the sea lions from our room.


Talented, huh?

Talented, huh?

I drank like a fish and ate like a queen!


My daily morning run ended up here every morning

My daily morning run ended up here every morning


We’ve been coming here for 5 years now for 2 weeks…how can I pass this year?


~Keep Santa Cruz Weird~

12 thoughts on “California Dreaming

  1. Awwww, what cutie sea lions!!! LOVE THEM!!! LOVE THEM!!! Such sweet animals and I absolutely love that they bark!! Adorable!!! Wow, great vacation pictures, too!!! You look absolutely beautiful!!

  2. Woo hoo! Tattoo selfies! That’s a first here! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m hearing wonderful things about the Carolina’s. I had an employee leave Massachusetts and by a very nice home for a very nice price. I’d love to move to California, but it’s so expensive.

    1. I know! California is expensive! That’s Kevin’s home San Jose. I’ve never even been to Carolinas but have relatives there I need to visit! Maybe one day. Yeah, tattoo selfie! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. What is it about the Garmin training plans that makes you possibly like them better? I’ve never used Hal Higdon, but I’ve heard great things about his plans and I like how they tell you to take pretty much every run as slow as you need to to finish it, since I’m prone to worrying about pace, pushing myself too hard, and getting hurt as a result.

    1. The Garmin has so many training plans to choose from or you can make your own. You can download a workout to your garmin and it will help you through the workouts. There are many plans and some include speed work etc versus just running per Higdon. I still will probably use Higdon but I will try out the garmin plans. I like the idea its on your garmin to help you through the plan. Do you have a Garmin? I’ve only had mine a few days so I don’t know all its capable of yet. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for commenting.

      1. That’s actually really cool–I didn’t know you could download workouts to your Garmin. I have a Forerunner 210. I only ever use it for the basic functions of tracking time and distance, so I’m not sure if mine has those capabilities. I might have to look into it later!

Leave a Reply

