A “Ooey Gooey” Day

The last 2 days have been very busy but we got our daughter in law graduated with a Masters of Science in Nursing at St. Louis University. It was a good day for her and exciting for all of us.

10314566_10152429725810505_9022881959202789829_n


I have not run in 2 days due to the hectic graduation activities. I could have run this afternoon but I just didn’t want to do it for some reason. Tonight would have been perfect for a run. It’s cool and breezy and a beautiful St. Louis night but I was so tired more mentally than physically. I also have not eat the best either. Not terrible calorie wise but Ooey Gooey Butter Cake is not a way to go. 😦

Original Ooey Gooey Cake
Original Ooey Gooey Cake

The Ooey Gooey Cake is a St. Louis invention…so to speak.  “Gooey Louie™” is the most popular place in St. Louis to get this delicious, high caloric cake! But there are many places that make their own. I’ve never had a bad one! ♥

Turtle Ooey Gooey Cake (one of many variations)
Turtle Ooey Gooey Cake (one of many variations)

We went to my son’s house after the graduation for a cookout and celebration. I didn’t overeat there but it’s more just the snacking.

I enjoyed visiting with my son, Allison’s family, my ex-husband (my son’s father)…and especially Daniel and Sadie. 🙂

10342820_10152429588705505_5720912530411004233_n

Enough talk about food and family…..”said no one ever”  🙂


I wonder if other runners feel like I do in regard to missing days of running. I worry that I may not get back into it with the enthusiasm that I do now.

It’s Thursday and I’ve only run 3 miles this week. I will get in 7 miles at Forest Park in the morning and 5 or so on Saturday but that’s not my >20 miles that I am shooting for until June which at that point will get higher as my training progresses.

It’s days  like this when I feel like a slacker that I doubt my committment to the marathon….but I am sure I’m over reacting. I tend to do that in my mind. I’ll be back to normal when I get my run in tomorrow morning.

It’s a beautiful but chilly night. Kevin and I have taken the dogs on several walks to the plaza in our area and about Central West End (where we live in STL).

It’s couch, blog and TV time for me. I can almost hear that bed calling my name and it’s not even 9pm!

It’s been rainy here for 2 days and tomorrow is supposed to be sunny and a bit warmer, I’m looking forward to spending the day with Kevin, Peyton and Eli.

~Feet Up~

 

9 thoughts on “A “Ooey Gooey” Day

  1. Looks and sounds scrumptious! I’ve been bad on eating for the last week, but am hoping to do better this week. Congrats on all the graduations this week and spending time with your kiddos! You look fabulous! Love the pics! 😀

  2. Yum. I hadn’t heard of ooey gooey, but sure sounds tasty. I find days like this with a ton of socializing very draining and wouldn’t think of running at all. Spending time celebrating with your family is a great reason to skip running.

Leave a Reply

