If the Shoe Fits

It was 90 + degrees and humid this afternoon when I got home. I stupidly didn’t run yesterday when it was nice and cool. Instead, I plopped my butt on the couch and watched Criminal Minds until bedtime.

I was so tired and it felt good to take a day off. But still, it would have been better than today. I managed to get in 3 miles today in that muggy weather but it was hard and not a bead of sweat dropped down my face until I got back home into the house. I burned 500 + calories because my heartrate got so high but I better get used to training in the warm/hot weather because that’s what I’m looking at training for a fall marathon. I just need to stop bitching. πŸ™‚

I am in the market for new shoes. I have 3 pair of Asics Nimbus that I run in and a Brooks Glycerin 10. Β I need new shoes to start my training in and wear for my marathon.

I will go to a running store this weekend and try some others out. I am not as happy with Nimbus as I used to be. So maybe I should have an open mind.

I like these below

Brooks Women's Cascadia 9 - $120.00
Brooks Women’s Cascadia 9 – $120.00

I have a neutral foot strike so I’m not sure this is what I need. Just from the looks aspect, I love them and they look light like my Nimbus so maybe I’ll try them. Of course I know to never pick a shoe by how it looks.

Asic Nimbus 13 (one of my 3 pair of Asics)
Asic Nimbus 13 (one of my 3 pair of Asics)

I am working on getting my speed up. I have read that a cadence of 180 or above is good and I avg 178 with times that I can hit 190+. I try to find flat distances periodically to stretch out my stride a little. That is hard to do for me. Β I have to consciously make my stride longer and do it for a period of time. That doesn’t come natural to me but when I do it a bit, it doesn’t make me tired like speeding up with short strides. I love that my Garmin measures stride and cadence.

Running From

I was due for a tempo run tomorrow but due to higher temps tomorrow, I may just stick with a 3 mile run and do the tempo Thursday.

Tomorrow, I will start planning and putting together my eating plan for marathon training.

I’m both nervous and excited to see if I can stick with Higdon Training starting June 17. I’m already doing levels higher than week 1, 2 and 3 so for a while, I can do it. When it gets to 16 or 20 miles in warm temps….we’ll see. I might be hitting that treadmill.

β™₯Go Cardinalsβ™₯

15 thoughts on “If the Shoe Fits

  1. I love running in the heat and humidity, but you have to be careful…if you didn’t break a sweat until you got home, that can’t be good. I always started drinking water at least 4 hours before I ran in the heat and it seemed to help…just a thought. Also, good luck on finding some shoes. I share your opinion about the Nimbus…not as good as they used to be…I don’t like mine at all.

    1. About the not sweating in the heat, I have doctor appointment early June to discuss that. I do drink 10-12 glasses a water a day leading up to my runs. It’s funny but in the winter time or on a treadmill inside, I sweat profusely! I think it’s a medical condition that my body holds water during heat and humidity as protection. I’m a camel! haha I’ll have to work through it. I should have planned a marathon in the early part the coming year so I could have trained in the cooler weather. πŸ™‚ I do like Brooks Glycerin shoes but they seem heavier than Asics Nimbus and they are supposed to be comparable. Thanks!

  2. Have you thought about getting up early to run before it gets too hot out? That’s what I usually do in the summer because it can get very hot and humid here as well.

    1. And I have a couple of times but I already have to get up at 4:30am to get to work. I have a 40 mile commute. I will definitely have to find times to do that in the summer heat. I am a better morning runner but maybe not at 4am or earlier? πŸ™‚

      1. Oh shoot, yeah, that would be a bit too early. xD In that case, I guess the best thing you can do is to make sure you stay hydrated, back off on effort if you need to, and maybe it will cool off around sunset some days. :/

  3. Sounds exciting, Charlotte! I have a difficult time in the heat and humidity and prefer cool mornings or nights to work out. That weather will move into my area in mid July and last until mid September. I’m starting to do a little jogging with my son, so I may be jumping on the running bandwagon soon. Maybe. πŸ™‚

    1. Good for you! I love it that more and more people run. It’s the absolute best way to burn calories. And it’s a great thing to do with your son. πŸ™‚

  4. I love Criminal Minds! πŸ™‚ I’m with you on that heat! have you tried one of those neck scarves that you soak in cold water that helps you keep cool? I bought some for my hubby for when he’s outside in the summer on the pipeline. They do seem to help. πŸ™‚ I hope you find the perfect shoe for the marathon, I know you’re going to do so great!!!!!

    1. You know, I have not tried that but a great idea! πŸ™‚ I have tried taking a small water squirt bottle to spray on my face. I’ll give the scarf a try.

      1. I don’t know if you carry a small bag or anything, but if you do, you could put an extra one or two in a ziplock with ice/cold pack to keep it cool too. πŸ™‚ Hope it works for you! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

