It’s the Journey….Right?

s4-72_10_05_14_01_12

I’m from the south (Tennessee) so heat and humidity and I are not strangers.

It’s 143 days, 10 hours and 30 minutes until I attempt to run for 26.2 miles in the Rock ‘n Roll Marathon in St. Louis, MO on Oct 19.

Oct 19, 2014
Oct 19, 2014

And today….I struggled to get in 4 miles. My first 2 miles were good and I was fairly proud of how easy it was feeling even though it was hot, humid and no breeze. At one point I got on the MKT trail and had to stop twice to get rocks out of my shoes, once because a deer ran in front of me and scared me shitless…..and I met up with a couple of fairly steep inclines.

For 2 miles….I suffered and couldn’t get how tired I was and how heavy my legs felt off my mind.

The endura cooling towel did help today. I’d like the headband.

Why did I sign up for a marathon that forced me to train in the summer? Am I nuts? Am I wanting to die? Am I wanting to fail? πŸ™‚

I finished my run and at least I’m glad I did it…but I am now doubting my ability to complete it.

I know that I will have to start getting up at 4 am during the weekdays to run some of my days and that will make it better, but on my Wednesday 6,7,8 mile days…that ain’t a going to happen!

I’ll work it out and I have read from many marathon runners that the hard part is not the marathon, it’s the training. It will be a huge challenge for me but I knew that.

Like many things in life, it’s the journey not the destination that shows you who you are…..

~Journey On~

 

15 thoughts on “It’s the Journey….Right?

  1. Journey on! The heat sucks. But. You will wind up becoming so very strong because if it. Hydrate! Hydrate! Hydrate! And think about taking Enduralytes. They really helped me train without dying in 90 degree heat, 90% humidity. And yes, the word Fuck will become an adjective, noun, verb and conjunction. Use it. And use it well. πŸ™‚

    1. The heat is a killer! My next marathon training will happen in the winter! lol I have read about Enduralytes. I’ll sure give it a try. Thanks for your comment!

    1. I’ll look for the headband this weekend. Good luck on your training. Thanks for rooting for me and like wise for your next half! Which one are you doing?

  2. I’m so glad you got the towel! I just saw the commercials for the towel and headband and thought of you when I saw them! The headband looks like it’d be a great addition! πŸ™‚ You’re doing great!

      1. I wondered if it was “for real”. You just never know about those commercials. ha I’m glad to hear it is! If you get the headband let me know how it does! πŸ™‚

  3. You can do this. Think of all you have accomplished in the past, that was hard too! Keep in mind that one bad workout does not make them all bad. A great workout it just around the corner. How about using the treadmill sometimes to give yourself a cool break, but still get the run done? It’s going to be so much fun following your journey. We’re all here cheering for you- we know you can do this!

    1. You are right, Cynthia. I have accomplished a lot through my weight loss and keeping it off. My worry is that I think I am superwoman! lol At my age…I should know my limitations…right? πŸ™‚ I have used the treadmill and will definitely use it during the hottest of summer. It’s boring and I complain about it but I’m glad it’s there. Thank you for following my journey and your support. πŸ™‚

      1. You are superwoman πŸ˜‰ I’m starting to recognize a lot of self-doubt that I hear me tell myself. Never mind what your age is, plenty of older people run marathons. You will never know what you’re capable of unless you try and what’s wrong with trying even if you don’t make your goal (but you will!) You love running and that’s what matters. I can’t wait to hear how proud of yourself you are when you have run that marathon “at your age” πŸ™‚

  4. I think it’s incredible what you are doing. I decided to run a marathon because I knew I would have to get in shape to do it (the journey). It is hard, and we all have bad days. Rest, recover, and do it again better. Keep focusing on the positive workouts and not the negative ones. You’ll do great!

Leave a Reply

