The Monster in My Basement

It was a hot, steamy Missouri afternoon…..should be the first line in some novel! πŸ™‚

I did not sleep not 1 minute last night and I do not know why. I think I was still feeling the endorphins from my 4 mile run which almost killed me! πŸ™‚ Whatever the reason, I did not sleep. I wasn’t tired, in pain, anything on my mind or the like. I was just awake. I even got out of bed at 4:30 am with no problem.

I took a short nap at my little park for about 10 minutes at lunch time. I always enjoy doing that when I can.

It’s 9pm now and I’m laying out watching the Cardinals vs Giants and still not that tired.

I did something today that I almost NEVER do….I ran on my treadmill. I tried to talk myself out of running today because of the temperatures but I finally decided I’d run for 3 miles on the monster in my basement. And…..I had a great run! I maintained a 7:30 pace for most of my run which is fast for me. I sweated so much and I experienced that runner’s high quite a bit on the run. Did you hear that? I SWEATED! I actually loved it! I finished, showered and couldn’t feel better.

fast_15_minute_treadmill_beginner_run

I almost talked myself out of my run tonight.

I am more hopeful tonight about my marathon training because maybe I can get some good training by running on it periodically when the weather is not good outside. I won’t be able to run often in the mornings (except weekends) due to how early I already have to get up for work.

I can use my treadmill for tempo, speed and use the presets for mountain runs etc. I’ll use it to my advantage.

We are headed back to St. Louis tomorrow afternoon to our apartment and I need to see Daniel and Sadie. πŸ™‚

I’ll do my regular 7 mile run at Forest Park Saturday morning before the St. Louie heat sets in.

My roses are starting to bloom and when I got home from work to let the dogs potty….I saw my Tropicana roses looked beautiful. That always makes me happy. πŸ™‚

My Tropicana
My Tropicana

Throw Back Thursday! Me in high school πŸ™‚

#tbt   Me, a senior in High School.
#tbt Me, a senior in High School.

Β ~Rock On~

3 thoughts on “The Monster in My Basement

  1. Good to hear about the Monster! I loved my treadmill, but it broke. 😦 Don’t get me wrong, it was boring a lot of the times, but I got to the point where I could watch tv or listen to music to help pass the time. Love the high school photo!!!!

  2. Sounds like your Monster in the basement is becoming a good buddy! How awesome! And you sweat! WOOHOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now THAT is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sounds like you have a great weekend planned! Enjoy! Beaaaaautiful roses! I can almost smell it! πŸ˜€ And I love your high school pic! Gorgeous! πŸ™‚

  3. It’s great to hear you feeling optimistic about your training again and finding ways to deal with the heat. It’s crazy about the no sleep! Love your photo πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

