10k and a Present

I didn’t sleep a bit last night. I had no particular reason not to. I wasn’t tired, didn’t run or work out, nothing worrisome on my mind..just wide-eyed until 4am ish which was time to get up! HA!

I was busy at work and the day went fast. On my 40 minute drive home…I was really trying to talk myself out of running. I was still so very sore from kettlebells that it was even more hard to walk today. I think it’s called delayed onset muscle sorenessΒ (DOMS). Β Soreness becomes worse days later.

I will definitely be putting kettlebells back into my routine but maybe a little smarter! πŸ™‚

I fed the dogs and fed myself a tuna sandwich. I put on running gear and drove 1 mile up the road to the MKT trail. I planned on 3 or 4 miles since I was so sore. When I first started running, my lower muscles..butt, legs were killing me. At first I thought I’d have to stop. I kept running…slowly for the first mile and the soreness worked out.

I ran 6.2 miles and I felt like I was floating for the last mile. Yep, that sweet spot hit at mile 5! πŸ™‚ I ran a PR for a 10k. I burned ~800 calories and felt great.

Sometimes, it’s those runs that you can hardly make yourself start, turn out to be the best ones.

Hey…I got my first Stridebox today from http://www.stridebox.com and I felt like a kid at Christmas.

10373705_10152488285345505_9052716609926125671_n10390252_10152488284660505_9086681577128225828_n

I got energy drinks, gels, protein bars, other things but the best thing was the “Hi Cool” sleeves.

download

~Run Off the Day~

18 thoughts on “10k and a Present

    1. You should check it out. I’ve been reading about it for a while on runner’s FB pages and blogs. It’s different every month. Many things I use anyway like gels, beans etc.

  1. Free stuff is awesome!!! Sorry you couldn’t sleep, I’m going through that right now…I went to bed last night at 10 pm and woke up at 2:30 AM….I’ve been up ever since and can’t sleep…Full of energy for some reason…(btw…it’s 4:43 AM as I post this). Hope you could get some sleep last night and enjoy the free stuff.

    1. No sleep again last night! I was tired too. But at least for now, the tiny bit of sleep is not hurting me. I am alert and energetic throughout the day. Weird huh? Are you increasing your miles? Changed your diet? I always enjoy free stuff especially if it’s running things! πŸ™‚

      1. Hrmm..that is weird, but not entirely difficult to believe. I run on about 5 hours of sleep a day, some days less. As for your other questions…no change in diet and I haven’t increased my miles, so who knows what it is. Maybe it’s just my body’s way of adjusting my metabolism…or maybe I’m just a medical marvel!! πŸ™‚ Let’s go with that!!

  2. I hope that you’re not dragging today from lack of sleep, Charlotte. The stridebox looks like a good idea for runners. It would be nice to see something like that for low carbers!

    1. Actually, I’ve been very energetic and did not sleep again last night. I will hopefully crash early tonight! There may be a box for low carbers. I know there is one for dogs (Barkbox), one for cometics for men and women (birchbox) so who knows? πŸ™‚

  3. I hate having those sleepless nights, I’ve been having them off and on lately myself, including watching “Harvey Girls” until 2 a.m. this morning and still not going to sleep until after 3…. Not fun. 😦 Way to go on the workout! I always feel better afterwards even on days I have had to force myself to do it in the first place. lol Annnnd on another note, we were watching American Ninja Warrior at the SL qualifying rounds and were wondering why you and your hubby didn’t try out! πŸ˜€ Just saying…….. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ A lot of those people are very inspiring! Have an awesome day Charlotte!

    1. American Ninja? I need to check into that! Sounds like I might like it. I pretend to be Donatello from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles with my grandson! I’m already trained. πŸ™‚

      1. lol Sounds like fun! πŸ˜€

        I hadn’t heard of it until about 3 weeks ago, and it looks very hard, but some of the peoples stories of why they’re trying to do it are very inspiring! They’re still showing preliminary stuff, it was the 3rd show. I can’t remember where they did the 1st one, but the 2nd was Dallas, and the 3rd St. Louis, next week I think might be Florida. Anyway, it’s on, on Tuesday evenings. It definitely makes me want to step up my fitness game when I get to! πŸ˜€

  4. Congrats on the great run. That is interesting how it can start out so “bad” and end with a PR! I’ll remember that when I don’t want to work out. I’ve been struggling with some sleeplessness also. I hope it doesn’t catch up with you and bother you. I still haven’t signed up for stridebox. I need to figure out how to justify it to hubby since I don’t have a job.

    1. Yeah, I’m not sure if I even need the stridebox. I do buy energy gels for long runs but so I just told myself, I’d save money but that’s not true! I just like getting presents. I did sleep better last night and funny thing is that I feel energized during the day and not tired at all. I always pride myself that I sleep like a newborn puppy but maybe age is changing that! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

