Run Like a Kid

I’ve been too tired for the last couple of days to blog lately and catch up on my favorite blogs. I’ll try to spend time doing that tonight.
Yesterday was a whirlwind and passed so quickly. My day started out early with a quick breakfast and the “Macklind Mile” billed as St. Louis’ fastest mile. 1500-1700 people participated. This race gets bigger each year because people and especially elite running love getting that PR. In the Elite group, you have to be able to run a 4:30 minute mile or less.
I always sign up for the recreational which allows everyone to run together which includes people pushing baby strollers, dogs, children and I got a late start behind a group of stroller women. I ran the mile in 8:43 which is 10 seconds faster than last year but still, I should have been able to do better. Next year, I’ll sign up in women competitive so I can at least not stumble over strollers. ๐Ÿ™‚ Still, I enjoyed it and was dead tired afterwards.
We stayed a while because I registered Daniel in the kids quarter-mile race at his insistence. He loves doing that and as you can imagine, I love him running. He didn’t get a shirt which disappointed him because they ran out of kids shirts. He’ll get one in the mail. But he did get a ribbon when he finished which made him very proud.
Look at That Form!
Look at That Form!
My son ran with Kevin and me and that made me very happy. He seems to be eating better, losing weight, stopping smoking and working out. That makes me very extremely happy. The mile was hard for him but he did it and Daniel ran the last little bit with him which as great. ๐Ÿ™‚
Daniel’s race was so cute with many little runners with parents running beside them coaching them. But Daniel does not stay very focused. He was running all over that road instead of staying in a straight line. He was busy looking around, running sideways, backwards etc. I am going to have to teach him proper ๐Ÿ™‚
10487593_10152529986700505_4364323405711141256_n10428541_10152529987455505_4374268233473931742_n
We all went and had a nice breakfast at “City Diner” in Tower Grove. We had good conversation. That has been an issue with us. Most time except for the kids, we don’t have anything in common to talk about. But at breakfast, everyone was busy talking about exercise, running, working out and diet. That was a good day for me.
After breakfast we all went to the “Soulard Market for fruits and veggies. Afterward, Kevin and I went to our apartment and walked the dogs, took a shower and a sweet nap!
The weather in the city was so humid and I kept a slight headache all day which is unusual for me. We went later to visit Allison, James, Daniel and Sadie and Daniel came home to spend the night with us.
I went to bed way before Popeye (Kevin) and Daniel did because I knew I had 7 miles staring me in the face early this morning. I could hear them laughing until late in the night.

Ok, I know this is a long post and I kinda apologize but….I’m catching up.
I woke up before 6am and left Daniel and Kevin sleeping. I dressed and pottied the dogs. Had an english muffin, natural peanut butter, banana and a cup of coffee with half and half for breakfast.
I gathered my gear and got ready for my run: iPod, Cool It Towel, hand held water gadget, Garmin with Heart Rate Monitor, fuel belt, iPhone in case of emergency and after all that, I set out to run a dreaded 7 mile run. It’s beginning toย take longer to get ready than to run. ๐Ÿ™‚
It was warm and humid but a very nice breeze. I decided to run the city streets instead of Forest Park. I did not want to run but within a .25 mile, I felt like a little kid running. I did not look at my Garmin for over 4 miles.
I enjoyed the quietness of the early morning streets and the beautiful architecture of St. Louis’ old buildings.
I ran from my apartment toward downtown near Union Station. In the downtown area (about 3 miles away from my apartment) a huge weekendย Pride celebration and parades were going on downtown so it was very busy and very colorful. There was a Pride 5k and I almost signed up but I needed 7, not 3.1.
I made my turn around at the “Meeting of the Waters” sculptures.
4f8edf87b26d9.image
There were some tough and long inclines along the way but I was enjoying this run. I should have ditched all the gear: iPod, iPhone, garmin, fuel belt and run like a kid does….free, easy, fast as the wind and fun. I may not give up my gear but maybe I should make a point every now and then during my “Marathon Training” to “Run like Daniel.”
It may be the first time that I have enjoyed an entire 7 mile run or maybe any run.
ย ~Run Like a Kid~
4 thoughts on “Run Like a Kid

  1. Another great weekend report! That’s so neat you had a great family day of running and conversation. Daniel’s running reminds me of my son’s swimming when he was little. During swim practice he was all over the lane, goofy. That’s great your son is taking care of his health. No doubt you’ve been a positive influence for him ๐Ÿ™‚ Hurray for enjoying the whole 7 miles! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks, Cynthia! Kids are always fun to watch during any sporting event. Watching kids play t-ball or soccer is complete entertainment! I am very happy that my son is starting to take care of his health. I think a recent Doctor visit called attention to that fact. I may never get to say it again, but I did enjoy those 7 miles all alone on empty city streets. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Kids love to run. Can’t stop them, even in the house. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think that running like a kid has its merits, as far as breaking up the routine. Old school! Cynthia is correct, you’re a positive, healthy role model for Daniel, and you lead by example.

    1. I’ve read many runners talking about just running like a kid and what enjoyment might come from that. As I was watching Daniel, it dawned on me that they just run because it’s fun! They don’t care how it looks or whose looking! There’s a lot to learn from kids. ๐Ÿ™‚ My whole weight loss and health journey began to set an example for Daniel. I didn’t want him to have a fat grandma who couldn’t do anything. He looks at me as his playmate and I like that role. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

