Paying the Piper

Today is day 22 of “Marathon Training” and it was cross-training day. That basically means use another group of muscles that are not just used for running…..I did that!

We did strenuous yard work moving and packing top soil all around our house, replenishing gardens, making new gardens and that big 8 tons of dirt is about 3 tons now.

Yesterday was my 5 mile run and it was great. I can tell that I am getting faster and have more stamina than ever. “They” say trust the Higdon training…I’m always skeptical but it appears that it is helping me. I did increase my carb to about 50% and that is what Higdon recommends.

It rained yesterday and I was so tired.Β I was happy. We covered that big mountain of top soil and rested until the rain left.

We have moved dirt and done yardwork Fri, Sat and today. I managed to hobble downstairs at 6 pm to get a shower. Kevin had made BBQ ribs on the grill, with baked potatoes and a nice cranberry, almond, spinach salad. I didn’t over eat but I ate enough.

I had to feed the machine!! πŸ™‚

I can barely move….I move slower than a 100 year old! I’m hoping that a good night sleep will heal this old, sore body. πŸ™‚

We have been so busy traveling back and forth to St. Louis over the last couple of years, we have neglected things at our home. I love our Columbia home. It is still my little dream home but it’s old and needs lots of TLC.

So…after a long weekend of taking care of it….I’m paying for it with sore muscles, strained back, broken fingernails, sunburned shoulders but very content.

Tomorrow is another rest day from running! I’m starting to like my rest days because after the rest, I seem stronger and faster with more stamina.

But, I will have to possibly mow the yard tomorrow.

I’ll spend the rest of the night on the sofa doing employee evaluations that are due the next 2 weeks.

~Pay Up~

3 thoughts on “Paying the Piper

    1. It was very productive and fulfilling! It took me a little bit to not freak out on rest days but I see they are needed. I’m learning πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading.

  1. From what I’m reading, you can use the rest! 8 tons of topsoil? Are you doing that by wheel barrow? I’ve been doing general gardening, like edging and weeding, and that’s draining in the heat and humidity.

Leave a Reply

