Running Off at the Mouth

So it was back to work after a 4 day weekend.

I married, twice….why couldn’t I have married a rich man so I didn’t have to work? ย ๐Ÿ™‚ My grandmother told me once that it was just as easy to fall in love with a rich man as a poor…..yeah.

I was just daydreaming….I do like my life but I wish I didn’t have to work but I also wish that I was rich enough to do what I wanted and not stay at home everyday. I’ll buy a power ball ticket tomorrow! HA!


For runners or anyone who is highly motived to do something that makes them healthier or happier: do you ever get the feeling that people dislike you because you do those things with enthusiasm? Or that you become something that people mock or make fun of?

The last couple of weeks I have felt that way and not just by ignorant or jealous people but from people who I like, love or respect.

I honestly try not to talk about running but when it’s part of my life, I can’t always “not” mention it. People ask me about it or if they asked what I did this weekend…it’s part of my life…..but I am really contemplating never talking about it except on here.

And I do appreciate my WordPress friends for being supportive, intelligent, varied, different careers, different hobbies and lives, different parts of the world, kind and funny. This will be my little place. ๐Ÿ™‚

A few examples of things that really did hurt my feelings…

bragging_2
From Runner on the Bridge

I walked into my office at work and turned my lights on early in the morning and I overheard someone who I like tell another person in a sarcastic tone “why don’t she just run to work.” I lived 40 miles away from work or I might! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Another, I was in the toilet stall and a couple ladies (who I’ve liked talking to) walked in into the restroom clearlyย making fun of me …”wonder if she ran her precious little marathon thingie. She thinks she’s something.” (thingie??) ….I’m their boss and they were very embarrassed when I walked out of the stall! :-)..that actually was kinda fun and employee evaluations for raises are right around the corner! HA! ๐Ÿ™‚

Another: I was leaving my son’s home and he didn’t have a light outside and I made a comment to him that it being dark stepping onto the pavement made me worry about twisting my ankle…..he sarcastically said “oh, yeah….you might not get to accomplish your dream (meaning marathon).” I don’t really think he meant for it to sound as sarcastic as it did but it hurt me pretty deep for a while. He sounded a bit bitter or making light or fun of it. I think he thinks I’m too old to do this. He immediately realized how it sounded and apologized and said it came out and sounded smart-ass and sarcastic and did not mean for it to sound that way. I hope that was it…but still.

Another was probably the almost as hurtful as what my son said and I don’t know why it bothered me exactly but my sister and I were talking on the phone and she informed me that she and her daughter (my niece) was making fun of me in regard to something I posted on a Runner’s Facebook page. I was in the 100 mile June Challenge. I updated the group that I missed my goal by 9 miles. My sister and my niece made fun of that. And knowing my sister….she made fun of it in a way if I had heard it, I’d have been hurt. I think it was innocent but it did hurt my feelings.

I guess all of us who do something we love and are passionate about it can be maybe overly sensitive if others make light of it.

I can’t explain to anyone how important running is to me. Training for this marathon is not just a whim. I want it with all my heart and my body. I was almost 300 lbs and could barely walk up the street…so this means everything to me. It’s personal.

But it now has me paranoid or at least shy to even talk about running outside of here because of that. I feel like I have to parse my words in order to not bring up running.

Anyway…today is day #23 of “Marathon Training” and it’s REST DAY!! It’s hot and muggy…..

run-inspiration-rest-day-muscles-built-in-bed

I got home at about 5:30pm, fed P&E, ate Honey Nut Cheerios with Skim Milk for dinner, showered and ass on the sofa watching……………….drum roll…..”Criminal Minds.”

I “heart” Joe Mantegna

Honestly, I could eat cereal and milk for every single meal, every single day…

~It Must Be the Honey~

13 thoughts on “Running Off at the Mouth

  1. Hey Charlotte – keep your head up! I TOTALLY understand where you are coming from…it’s a big part of the reason I started my blog. I wanted to have an outlet to talk about something I care a lot about (with like minded and supportive people), because I was tired of the direct or passive aggressive negativity I got when talking about a race or something else running related I was super excited about. I don’t quite get why people can be like that….maybe insecurity?? But you are definitely going to achieve your goal of completing a marathon! Something less than 1% of people do! It will be something else for you to be proud of, you’ve all ready accomplished so many amazing things!! Keep being a rock star and don’t worry what other people think or say!

    1. Thanks Betty! I can honestly say that when I was almost 300 lbs and I would see runners…I’d be envious of them but never made fun of them. I always wanted to be like them! It’s amazing…that statistic of < 1% completing marathons. I read that a while back and was amazed. I want to be in that small group of people! Thanks for reading and your encouraging words.

  2. Their laziness and/or jealousy is not your problem. You will have to mentally have to :”shake” these comments. off. Trust me, rebuttal usually isn’t effective because these same people usually don’t realize how hurtful their comments are.

    1. You are so right. I never say anything in rebuttal that just fuels their talk. I do think most people don’t mean it in a bad way. I think it’s me being too sensitive. Thanks for reading and your supporting words.

  3. Charlotte, I’m so sorry you have to go through this. I get it and yes, I know, people can really hurt you deeper than you ever thought you could hurt. It’s painful to hear people you respect and care about talk negatively about something that you care for so much. It really does hurt. Let me tell you though, you keep on keeping on because you’re an amazing woman with so much passion, drive, and love. Never dull your light for others because you are a bright, shining star that will achieve every single goal that you put your mind to. You are beautiful, amazing, and oh soo inspiring to me. I enjoy reading each and every one of your posts!! Just know that when people talk about you at work, they are only talking about you because you are a sensational runner and they probably wish they could be more like you because HELLO, you’re fabulous!!! XOXO!!!! XOXO!!! XOXO!!

    1. Kristin, you are my girl! You are the most encouraging person. Also, you are so busy with your own workout schedule that I really appreciate you taking time to encourage me! You motivate me with your every post!

      1. Oh my gosh Charlotte!!! THANK YOU!!! THANK YOU!!! You’re amazing!! I appreciate your kind words!! You really made me smile!! Wow, I’m so flattered!! You’re so awesome!!! Hope you had a great weekend!!!

  4. So sorry. Just remember (and I know, it’s hard!): What they say isn’t YOUR problem–it says more about THEM than it does about you. (Sorry for the caps.) Take heart. If they knew what sort of solace running is, they might get it.

    1. You are right. If they only knew what we knew. It does say a lot about them. I think they don’t know it’s offensive and I’m being way to sensitive. I don’t mind most people acting that way but hurts a bit when it’s family. Thank you for taking time to post. You keep running yourself! We understand what running does for our health and mental stability! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I think a lot of it is jealousy, and some of it is their own insecurity. You’re improving your health and wellbeing, and that inflames those emotions. I’d use it as a measure of success – and a tool for motivation. Don’t let anyone get you down!!!

  6. Aw, so sorry! I don’t know why people would say those things. They just don’t understand how important running is to you. Whatever issues they have to cause them to say those things, it has nothing to do with you. I think it’s awesome to be so passionate and focused. Especially on something that is soooo good for you! You may feel you are too sensitive, but at the same time, you don’t deserve to be made fun of.

Leave a Reply

