Girl On Fire

I slept well except for some calf cramps early in the night. I woke early and ate breakfast and got on with my 10 mile run for day 34 of “marathon training.”

At first it was tough and I just didn’t want to do it. I felt sluggish and a bit tired up until about 5 miles or so. My wind kicked in about about 6 miles and at 8 miles, I started feeling that runner’s high. I ran the perimeter of Forest Park which was 6.5 miles and then 3.5 through my neighborhood. My new power song today was “Girl on Fire” by Alecia Keys. At mile 8, I felt like I had wings.

Ohhhh oh oh oh oh
She got both feet on the ground
And she’s burning it down

I got home after an hour and 48 minute run, showered and drove to my plastic surgeon check-up. He said I was doing great and that my body had contoured wonderfully after the surgery. He assured me that my arm scars are looking better and will fade much more in the coming 4 months. My left arm is almost not noticeable but right one still is. When I exercise, my scars get blood red due to blood pooling to the surface. He said that would go away.

I spent the rest of the afternoon with my son eating lunch at “Wildflower” and hanging out. Then met up with the rest of the family for dinner outside at Llwelyn’s. We all ate healthy salads! I enjoyed my short time with my grandkiddies.

Allison is loving her new job as a nurse at “Barnes Jewish Hospital” and I am happy for her. 🙂

I’ll catch up and spend more quality time with kiddos next weekend.

Tomorrow is rest day and I’ll be driving home to Columbia in the morning for a weekend of yard work and playing with my puppies and hubby.

10408890_10152572936215505_1858180587376561308_n

I’m tired and it’s bedtime. 🙂

~Grandma on Fire~

One thought on “Girl On Fire

Leave a Reply

