Turtle Power

Yesterday was day # 49 of my marathon training and I completed 12 miles relatively easy. At mile 11, my right hamstring was getting tight and I worried that I might pull it or it would start cramping but it didn’t.

Kevin rode with me on his bike and took plenty of water and my fuel.

I used strawberry shot blocks for the first time. Β They energize with carbohydrates and electrolytes. They taste good and are easy to eat chew during a run.

Strawberry Shot Blocks
Strawberry Shot Blocks

I also had a peanut butter and jelly Bonk Breaker. I took GU but did not use it. The peanut butter and jelly BB was easy to eat on the run and good tasting. It is hard to eat these type things with a dry throat. So make sure you have water with it.

Bonk Breakers
Bonk Breakers

 


After the run, I showered and got dressed and tried to keep moving. It was hard walking down the stairs at our apartment but Kevin and I took Peyton and Eli to an outdoor cafe and had a beer and some lunch. My son, Daniel and Sadie joined us. Allison worked 12 hour days this weekend.

We walked back home and Kevin and I babysat Sadie while James took Daniel to see a movie. Sadie was sweet as pie but wears me out and I was already needing rest. I did manage to get a 10 minute nap while Kevin played with her.

Duck lip selfies!
Duck lip selfies!

I elevated my legs and put cold packs on my knees. That seemed to help immensely. The after pain was very mild. I’m very happy when I run 12 miles and feel good. πŸ™‚

Afterwards, Kevin and I made a picnic of wine, cheese, olives, baguette, sushi roll, fruit and a brownie for me. We took our blanket to our favorite picnic place in Forest Park under the willow tree near the Muny.

10312559_10152604275815505_2922493764374695075_n
Weeping Willow

The weather had cooled and a wonderful breeze was blowing. We lay on a blanket, ate, laughed and talked. We then walked across the street to the Muny to watch a live musical “Grease.”

10520894_10152605496295505_3099030253938342148_n

It was a wonderful time. I love those kind of evenings.

I was dead tired when I got back to the apartment at about 11 pm.

This morning, after breakfast and walking the dogs, Kevin and I went and got Daniel to take him school supply shopping. I think my son is having a hard time being full-time Mr. Mom while Allison is doing 12 hour shifts.

Today was supposed to be cross training day but I made it my rest day. I needed it and we got back to Columbia later than usual. I’ll cross-train tomorrow.

We took Daniel for school supply and shoe shopping. We let him pick the backpack, lunch box etc that he wanted in addition to getting the things supplies that he needed. He chose Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle everything!

10253979_10152605946935505_1719780928191002259_n

We also got him a new pair of Nike Free running shoes. He was very happy about that.

He is looking so forward to coming home with us at the end of next week for an entire week with Momeye and Popeye in Columbia, Mo…his birthplace. πŸ™‚

~There’s No Place Like Home~

 

9 thoughts on “Turtle Power

  1. What a great way to spend a weekend! Also, have you ever tried a 5-hour energy drink before going on a long run? I used to down one before all my races and it seemed to help a lot to keep my energy up.

  2. A very nice weekend! Congrats on getting that 12 miles in. We had a wonderful time in St. Louis. A very nice city. We didn’t make it to Forest Park until afternoon on Sat because we ended up at Grant’s Farm in the morning. We drove all around the park and went to the history museum. The park was packed with people! Funny, you were there on either side of when we were there! I can see why you love the city so much and we only got to see a small part of it.

    1. I am so glad you enjoyed it. A lot is always going on in Forest Park. I was wondering if you were there when I was. The History Museum is great. I was wondering if you got a chance to go to the Art Museum…my favorite. πŸ™‚ Grant’s Farm is great and Daniel loves it! I do too.

      1. The Clydesdales are just gorgeous animals! We didn’t do the art museum since we only had time for one thing. We love history and knowing all about an area we visit. But I love art, so we’ll be sure to go if we are able to visit St Louis again.

Leave a Reply

