Mud, Rainbows and Stuffy Noises

I haven’t blogged in a few days because I have been so busy and sick with a head cold.

That just pisses me off. I haven’t been sick except from my surgery in over a year and now that I have a needed week off and Daniel is coming to spend a week with me…dammit!


I ran my 13.1 miles on Saturday and it wasn’t bad until the last mile. I think I didn’t eat enough fuel towards the end of the run. I did 2 complete laps around Forest Park.

The weather was mild, a bit humid but breezy and due to fog, there was a mist hitting my face for a lot of the run. Kevin (my trusted sidekick) rode bicycle to carry water, GU, Stingers etc.

That really does make my runs much better. I (again) did not want to do it. I wanted to sleep in but I got my lazy butt out of bed. I got a late start again as usual. We fed, pooped, walked the dogs then got ready.

My first couple of miles didn’t feel good. I was exceptionally tired. I actually did a walk/run for the first mile or so to get warmed up. The rest wasn’t bad I was able to keep running the rest of the way but at mile 10, I apparently hit the famed “wall” for me.

I ate GU Chocolate Outrage, GU Salted Caramel, GU Peanut Butter and the Honey Stinger Ginger Waffle….

51P3ShBIUAL._SY300_PBgupkt13en_saltedcaramelwsaltygingersnap

The Chocolate Outrage tastes like cupcake icing! I love the taste of all of these and I feel they work well.

I waited too  late before I ate my last one and at mile 12, my quads were giving up.

I finished this 13.1 a bit over 10 minutes quicker than I did my Half Marathon at Go! St. Louis back in April. I was pretty happy about that.


Sunday was rest day. I didn’t feel bad at all. I had put ice packs on my knees a few times to help and it usually does. As I’ve said before, sleep is the best  healer.

We brought Daniel back to Columbia to spend the week with us. He starts back to school next week.

Sunday night we mostly just played in rooms that he hasn’t seen in a while, read a book and he wrote in his journal. I find it funny to read back on some of his journal entries. 🙂

Monday was a full and great day. We went out for a bit shopping to find him some sandals, Flat Stanley book and lunch. Then we came back and played in the water, mud and trampoline in the backyard. Kevin had filled up one of our empty garden spots with dirt and he and Daniel filled it with water which made a awesome mudhole! And Daniel did all of this in his undies! :-)We all eventually played in it even the dogs.


“Boys Need Mud”


 

IMG_2135_ IMG_2120_ IMG_2139_ IMG_0165_ IMG_2221_

IMG_2192_

He loved making rainbows with the garden hose. Simple things make him happy….and Toys ‘R Us 🙂

IMG_2225_

We then went to dinner at Daniel’s favorite place which is Shakespeare’s Pizza.

10600403_10152627877020505_4781534901652822194_n

I didn’t feel great this morning but I did manage to get in my 3 mile run on the MKT while Daniel rode his bicycle in front of me. It actually helped me to keep a good pace. We had to stop a few times to look at rocks, lizards, pee behind a tree, ask questions about unknown things that attracted Daniel’s attention.

I’m due up for 7 miles tomorrow but not sure how I will get those miles in. I may try to get up early in the morning to get the run in before Kevin goes to work. Otherwise, I may pass it up. I’ve been diligent on my training so one day won’t be so bad plus my head is stuffed up like crazy.

I’m glad I’m in Columbia this week with all the bullshit going on in St. Louis County (Ferguson). It’s a shames because Ferguson use to be a nice little historic town. Ferguson is also the home of a well known run in the St. Louis area “Ferguson Twilight Run” that is run at night. I hope everything at least returns to civility by the time we get back on Friday.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles in 3D is on tap for tonight. 🙂


 ♥RIP Robin Williams♥

 

6 thoughts on “Mud, Rainbows and Stuffy Noises

    1. I am feeling better now. I actually still had plenty of energy but just felt like I was in a tunnel! 🙂 I’m enjoying my time off and especially hanging out with Daniel. Fishing tomorrow 🙂

  1. I was worried about the craziness that was happening in Missouri and didn’t know if you were close to it. Let’s pray for calm in the days ahead. I love the photos. What’s more perfect for a young boy than mud, toys and a 3D film?

    1. I am a bit worried about what is happening and will happen in St. Louis. We will be back up there this weekend. I hope it dies down but I don’t think it will. I’ve had a great time with Daniel and it’s fishing tomorrow! Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles in 3D was great. I have not seen a 3D movie since Jaws in 3D and technology has changed for the better!

Leave a Reply

