a WTF?? Injury…

So, last night…I slept well. I didn’t overeat or drink any liquor and laid out my running things plus fuel for my 10 mile run the next morning.

When I woke up, it was raining fairly moderately but I was happy because as you know, I love running in the rain and especially if it was hot or humid.

I ate oatbran for breakfast, fed, pooped and walked the dogs.

For the first 2 miles, I couldn’t get my run groove. I ran for a mile at a faster pace than I should have and between mile 1 and 2, I had to take a couple very short walk breaks. I couldn’t get my pace right for some reason. After 2 miles, I started to get my rhythm and the slow rain felt good. I ran city streets from  my apartment to downtown St. Louis near Busch Stadium.

Near mile 6, felt a sharp excruciating pain in my toe on my right foot. I had never experienced toe pain before. I kept running and it kept feeling worse. It got so bad that I could not run so I paused my Garmin and sat on a bench and pulled my shoe off.

I was shocked that my sock and shoe was full of bright red blood. The very top of my middle toe on the right foot had practically come off.

The only thing that I can think of that caused such a thing was that my sock was soaking wet for so long, the toe box of my new shoes allowed my toe to move around, and with constant striking…it just took the top off.

Ok, I’m 4.5 miles from home and I admit…I cried. I was just totally frustrated and did not know how I could make it home.

I adjusted my sock in a way that put a sort of bandage around the toe. I thought that might help and I bit my lip and started back running.

It was painful but I put it out of my mind. I thought to myself that if I were in an actual marathon…what would I do?

Kevin was with me on his bike but not much he could do but watch me cry and encourage me along the way. It did actually get better. I quickly stopped crying and finished that 4.5 miles.

I ran 10.5 miles and my last mile was a sub 9 mile. I was so mad and frustrated I just said fuck it and ran.

10534055_10152635986605505_1013231759866251337_n
Sorry, I know it’s gross

I ate well today and  have hydrated well since the run. I cut the top of the toe skin off and that may have been a mistake but not sure what else to do. I will have to wear a toe cap because I am pretty sure it won’t be healed any time soon. It’s 9:30pm and it’s still sore to touch and bleeding.

This or anything like this has ever happened to me before. It seems like such a strange thing to happen…right? I have run many, many miles in the rain and in these socks. I guess maybe the bigger toe box on the shoe allowed the toe to move around.

I have a couple days off but 3 miles Tuesday, 7 miles Wednesday, 4 Thursday….a fun Glo-Run 5k with Family plus Daniel on Friday night and 15 miles on Saturday!!!! Shit, shit, shit!

A red-letter run day for Charlotte! HA!

Kevin and I had a great late lunch at “The Vine“…one of our favorite Mediterranean places on South Grand. I ate what I love….hummus, pita bread, lentil soup and falafels.

10308053_10152636127680505_1774869966991746197_n

10544412_10152636126530505_1404936183294222514_n

10574267_10152636125285505_7457926884423121632_n

It’s 9:30pm and I have not eaten anything else. I didn’t overeat and feel good…well, except for that toe thing.

We went to our favorite running store after lunch and spent $$$ for shoes for Kevin and more GU, Bonk Breakers…etc for me.

Time for rolling out those sore quads and calves….

~Run the Day~

7 thoughts on “a WTF?? Injury…

  1. Wet feet blister easily. I learned the hard way too.
    A tip, if you want it, is to wear a pair of ankle-high nylons under your socks. Dry days or wet days, this tip drastically reduces risk of blisters.
    Don’t be surprised to lose a toenail or two as the miles increase.

  2. Ouch, I’ve been having some toe/toenail pain myself lately and I’m with you, it’s definitely not fun!! Summer sweat can be tricky!! I’m glad you made it home!! You’re tough!! Way to go!! Food looks delicious!! XOXO!!

Leave a Reply

