The Complaining Runner

It’s known by accounts of many runners that we can power up a steep incline without breathing hard but we can’t bend over and tie our shoes!

From many articles that I read, distance runners are usually inflexible and for the most part in the hamstrings. That is also due to runners being stubborn and not stretching enough or correctly….I assume.

I am one of those….sadly and unfortunately.

Study: Better Runners Are…Inflexible?

Well……

Last night I ran 5 miles on the treadmill due to heat. It was a nice run with lots of sweat. I showered and got ready to watch TV plus “Sons of Anarchy” final season started.

I put my yoga mat down and was about ready to get down to roll my quads and hamstrings….and strained my right quad!! How in the hell can that happen?

My takeaway….runners should stretch their quads.

I put ice packs on it for the rest of the night and today it seems a bit worse. That can only happen to me! I have 4 miles to run tonight, 9 tomorrow and 18 on Saturday with a strained quad.

Maybe I might take off the 4 tonight and rest but I’ll see that that goes and how it feels.

On another note, I want to eat all the food!

I can’t stop wanting to eat for the last few days! And also, I have these strange cravings. Last night it was chocolate oatmeal cookies, today it is Hot Buffalo Wing Flavored Pretzels.

If I were not running, I’d be a cow by now.

Is this normal the more miles that I run? I think I’m not getting enough calories with my meals and that sets me up to stay hungry.

I have my calorie goals set at 1700 calories. I usually eat more than that on long run days. Last Saturday I think I ate like 2700 or something but I burned 2000 on the 13 mile run.

Since after my anticipated 18 mile run on Saturday…I probably won’t be able to walk so I’ll read up and make a big effort to readjust my diet until after the marathon.

I think I need a little more protein and better and healthier carbs. I do try to eat better carbs but those cakes and cookies slip in! πŸ™‚

55-c Β 20-p Β 25-f Β is my target and I am pretty good at hitting it but I need to choose better foods.

I am killing the water drinking! I think I learned a lesson from that 8 mile run from hell last Wednesday when every muscle I had cramped up at mile 6.

GU Energy Gel Caramel Macchiato
(Want This) GU Energy Gel Caramel Macchiato

What will I gripe about when the marathon is over?

I’m sure I’ll find something πŸ™‚

β€œRun when you can, walk if you have to, crawl if you must; just never give up.”
― Dean Karnazes

14 thoughts on “The Complaining Runner

  1. Charlotte, I stretch after every run, and that usually keeps my flexibility in check, but I know that everyone is different and different things work for different people. I share your increased appetite, though! During my training for my first half-marathon, I felt like I was ALWAYS hungry. And the hunger never seems to be for anything healthy, is it? Dang it, anyway! πŸ˜‰ I love reading about your journey, and hope to be where you’re at one day soon! Running a marathon is on my bucket list for next year! πŸ™‚

    1. I am going to start tonight stretching. The truth is that I rarely do. I did start doing some yoga I got lazy on that too. I even have to make myself roll out my muscles! I am making a point to be better starting today. Unfortunately, I do like junky food. I used to weigh 300 lbs so I worry when the running stops….well, you know. Good luck on your bucket list! You will do it. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m not so good at the stretching either and my hamstrings are letting me know today. I’ve been increasing my mileage each week by a small amount and some days I am so hungry! And sad to say eating a lot of junk. Once I get back to food tracking (soon I hope), I’m going to watch my breakdown. That’s something I’ve never done before, just counted calories. It will be interesting to see how that goes. You must be excited to tackle that 18 miles! I hope it goes better than the 16, but I’m sure it will πŸ™‚

    1. I am a junky food eater. I don’t so much anymore but I do worry when I am unable to run, how will I keep my weight in check. I am a little more relaxed about this 18 miles than the 16 miles. It was very warmer that day and this weekend is supposed to be cool. I run much better. Here is a link to add the pie chart to MyFitness Pal on your computer. It works well. Thanks for your support!
      http://foodfastfit.com/myfitnesspal-x-foodfastfit/#/view1

  3. I am sooo inflexible but I know it’s because I’m guilty of not stretching like I should. Some things I definitely need to work on! Great job on your training! It must be so exciting to be so close to your taper all ready! Wow how time flies! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

