And So It Was 18…

It’s hard for me to believe that I’m at this point in my marathon training. But more amazing to me is that after spending many years of my life obese, that I am even attempting to do this.

As it always goes, I ate a small breakfast and put all the stuff together in Kevin’s backpack for a loooooong run on the MKT/KATY trail.

I went to a runner’s store yesterday and bought lots of the GU Expresso Love which has become my favorite. Loaded Kevin’s bag up with water and NUUN. I took the big chance to run in those Brook’s Glycerin whichย I threatened to put on Ebay a few weeks ago. I still love Asics Nimbus more.

It was a cool and sunny morning. I really hope the weather is just like this morning on the morning of Oct 19 for the marathon.

Before I began, I stressed and hyperventilatedย a bit. HA! I’ve never done that before this training but I have had that happen a couple of times.

Once I got to running, I was enjoying the trail and it was spectacular today. It’s getting so cool here that some of the trees are already turning gold and red colors.

Truthfully, this run went so well that early in (barring any injury) that I knew I would finish it relatively drama free. I took and ate plenty of GU and drank a lot of water but I didn’t sweat that much. I never overheated and the cool breeze in my face was nice.

At mile 16, I did experience that same toe issue as before and I could tell that it was only going to get worse. At mile 17, I felt mildly nauseous and that could have been from all the GU that I ate.

I kept a decent (slow) and consistent pace. That’s what I shoot for. It’s hard to do that in a real run because your natural inclination is to start fast and think you should keep up with fast runners. That’s a mental thing and I’m usually good and blocking that out and paying attention to my own pace.

A good piece of advice that I have adopted and it does help….run the mile you are in. Maybe the best advice that I’ve received.

Kevin’s bicycle tire blew at mile 15 so he had to run beside his bike to keep up with me.

I ran today with very little drama and Kevin was appreciative of that. ๐Ÿ™‚

I just ran and admired the beautiful nature all around. I listened to my music and pretended that I could see the finish line at the RnR STL. ๐Ÿ™‚

I don’t want it to sound like it was “easy peasy,” it was not. But, I never became winded at all and could have carried on a conversation with someone if I were running with someone. Sometimes, I just sang.

After 14 or 15 miles….it became mental.

I’ve read by many that the real marathon begins at mile 20….that worries me! HA!

When we got home from the trailhead, Kevin and I sat in the car for a while and I just started crying uncontrollably…out of the damn blue! I should have been happy but I kept telling him that there’s no way I can get 8.2 more miles. He was sweet and told me that I never dreamed I’d run 13 miles, 14, 15, 16 etc.

It was an incredibly beautiful day and I’ve been inside all day recuperating and binge watching “Dexter.” I told Kevin that I felt like I wasted a beautiful day. He said “are you kidding? You ran 18 miles on a beautiful trail, in beautiful weather with nature all around. You made the best out of your day….not everyone can say that.” He’s right. ๐Ÿ™‚

Kevin made a good homemade chili with sharp cheddar cheese on the top and saltines….just like I like it. He and the dogs have babied me all day…..another reason to run. ๐Ÿ™‚

“Remember the feeling you get from a good run is far better than the feeling you get from sitting around wishing you were running.”ย -Sarah Condor

 

11 thoughts on “And So It Was 18…

    1. I can’t believe it either. I only ever dreamed of being a distance runner. When this marathon is over, i’m pretty sure it will be my last. But many probably say that. ๐Ÿ™‚ I really do just want to get back to loving to run and not having to run. Thanks for your support. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks for your comment, Julie. ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe it’s normal to do that. This entire training has been emotional for me. I can only imagine my breakdown when/if I cross that finish line. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Charlotte, congrats on getting to that 18th mile! You’ve got this! I felt the same thing when I ran 10 miles for the first time; I thought to myself that there’s no way that I can add 3.1 more miles on. For my pace, that’s another 37 minutes, and that’s if I’m staying on pace…..impossible, I thought. But then my daughter told me, “37 minutes, so what? What else would you be doing for that 37 minutes if you’re not running?” That inspired me to keep training and you know what? I did it! Now, I just have to do it again here in a month. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Your journey is an inspiration, Charlotte. A quote I read recently in a running book is “the best way out is always through”. That one has really stuck in my mind, especially when I start to doubt my ability to tackle a certain distance. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

