Here Are Some…They Run for Fun

I have been lethargic and disengaged almost all week. That’s too bad because the weather is beautiful! But that doesn’t matter when you are at work, I guess.

I have still been in a slump since that horrible training run on Saturday. I’ve doubted seriously even if I wanted to continue. I debated taking a break but these weeks are crucial.

Yesterday was my 5 mile day and the first up after Saturday. I did not want to run. I tried to find ways all day to not do it. I still am feeling a bit under the weather and it seems to be going around because everyone at work is complaining of the same thing…coughing, congestion, headache, sore throat etc…I tried to make that case and not run.

Running is mental for sure. I just didn’t want to train and it dawned on me to stop thinking about it as being training. So I just decided that I wanted to run like I used to because I enjoyed it. The weather is great and a light breeze was blowing….so I went on a 5 mile fun run and it felt good!!

run

 

I went back to wearing my old Asics Nimbus and my toe on the right foot felt great! I am still looking to buy a new pair of the same type for my 20 mile run on Saturday.

I am supposed to run 10 miles today but I will probably keep that to 5. It’s hard to get in 10 before dark and I am not sure it is necessary. It’s more important that I do the 20 on Saturday. I’ve not missed any of my training so far and I’m on week 15 of 18 so I think I’ve done fairly well on sticking to the training schedule.

I still haven’t decided if I want to run the 20 in St. Louis or stay home in Columbia. I hate running on a trail for 20 miles so I’m leaning towards going back to the scene of the horror  show of 14 miles from this past Saturday! 😦

It would be better to stay in Columbia this weekend because we are going to Kansas City on Monday. From one end of the state to the other seems a bit much for one weekend.


Kevin and I are going to a Monday night football game (Chiefs vs Patriots) on this coming Monday and spending the night in Kansas City within walking distance of the stadium. We are going as guests of someone who is supplying an awesome Tailgate, catered  Jack Stack BBQ, liquor and a Bloody Mary bar along with free tickets near the field! We did it last year and I loved it. I also sat by Priest Holmes (former star running back for Chiefs) last year.

I love football 🙂

We arranged for our dog sitter to come feed, potty and play with Peyton and Eli while we are gone. They like that so much better than being boarded and it causes them less stress. It’s a bit more expensive but they get to stay home and lay around on the furniture! 🙂 We and they love our dog sitter, also.

I will have 5 to run on the Tuesday so I need to keep the tailgating to a minimum. 😉

I am feeling better today and maybe it’s because my run didn’t suck that much yesterday. Or maybe I’m just getting better from what ever I did have or was trying to get.

I am trying to view myself as in the homestretch of the marathon. I’m at week 15 and after Saturday, I start taper. Week 18 is almost no running and that worries me a bit!

Trust the training….they say

“Run soft, run strong, run balanced, run fast, run less and run repaired.” — Roy Wallack

9 thoughts on “Here Are Some…They Run for Fun

  1. Charlotte-
    It’s funny because I just posted a blog that you might be able to relate to. I think that, like you, I sometimes get so caught up in the training, the logistics, etc. and then I realize that this running stuff just isn’t fun anymore, and that’s when I stop, take a break, and then just go out for a run for fun. No watch, no mileage in mind; I just run for the fun of it. And that’s usually enough to give me the reboot I need.
    There is no doubt in my mind that you will do this. It seems as though you keep having obstacles thrown at you, and yet you’re finding the inner strength to suck it up and get it done. You’ve got what it takes to do this marathon! 🙂

  2. You are right – it’s all mental!! If you think of running like you think of going to work or cleaning the house, then you will definitely not want to do it. But if you think of the things you enjoy about running, then mentally you will be ready to go!

    1. You are so right. I have started thinking about the training as though it’s a job. I do miss the days when I just ran when I felt like it for as far as I wanted. I’ll get back to those days soon. Thanks for your comment. 🙂

  3. Charlotte, I LOVE your first picture!! Man, such a great point of view!! You’re amazing!! Also, great job on your 5 miles!! You should be SO proud of yourself…getting out there and doing it! Glad to hear your toe felt better! Awesome news! I know you’re going to have a fabulous 20 miles! I just know it!! XOXO!!

Leave a Reply

