New Kicks and a Rest

On Wednesday, I did cut my 10 mile run to 7. I felt a tightness in my Achilles and probably because I went on a new route which was so damn hilly that I couldn’t believe it. It wore me out and I took a wrong turn that cut out 3 miles…so I went home fairly satisfied with my run.

I did my 5 miles for Thursday on the treadmill due to weather being warmer and I thought I would be able to keep check on that Achilles. I worked up a great sweat which I always do on the treadmill. I also watched another episode of Dexter and that helps pass the time.

Friday was rest day and a beautiful day! I worked my partial day, went by the Dairy Queen and got a small Pumpkin Pie Blizzard, took the dogs to the park to swim and socialize, went to the local running shoe store and bought new news. I am going back to my trusted Asics….so another $160…cha ching!

Peyton and Eli had a great time at the park playing and swimming but Eli always overdoes it with the swimming and is limping pretty bad now. He’s laid around with his head in my lap all evening. Hopefully he will be better tomorrow and want have to make a trip to the Vet.

I’ll use my pretty Brooks Glycerin for short runs. The running store told me if I run my 20 miles in these tomorrow and they don’t work for me, they will take them back. Asics always feels so good on my feet.

I am feeling really doubtful that I will be able to complete the 20 miles tomorrow. I have it mapped out and some of it is city running and most is trail running. I’m nervous…

I will do the best I can and hope I can at least remain injury free. If I can make it 20 miles tomorrow, the rest of the training should be easy.

I suspect I’ll be laid up tomorrow afternoon and hubby taking care of me again. I do like that part. πŸ™‚

The “Roots ‘n Blues” half marathon is going on in Columbia in the morning also so I may cross paths with them.

“Your body will argue that there is no justifiable reason to continue. Your only recourse is to call on your spirit, which fortunately functions independently of logic.”Β Tim Noakes

3 thoughts on “New Kicks and a Rest

  1. Cool shoes!! Love them! Hope they work out for ya!! Have a great 20 miles tomorrow!! You can do it!! Glad you had a good week and hope Eli feels better soon!! Poor baby!! 😦 Sounds like Eli and Peyton had a fantastic time at the park, though!! I’ll be thinking about you tomorrow!! Good luck!! XOXO!!

  2. Have a great 20 miler tomorrow! I know you can do it! And the being laid up having hubby taking care of you will make it worth it! 20 mile days are the best…you get to spend the rest of the day feeling proud of yourself, napping, and eating WHATEVER the heck you want guilt free! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

