20 Plus a Pizza

I did everything on my rest day on Friday to make sure I was as prepared as possible for the Saturday 20 miler. I ate right, stayed hydrated and most importantly, didn’t eat late in the night.

I slept well but I really didn’t want to get up and tackle that 20 miles. I know I say this way too much I never thought I’d be able to finish the 20. I had a bowl of oatmeal and some coffee at about 1.5 hours before I set out.

Drum roll…….I did it!!!

1779084_10152729800220505_308560103343092214_n

I felt pretty good up until about mile 16 or 17. Although my new Asics felt great, I got aΒ cramp in my left foot at mile 16 that hung around for most of the rest of the run. It was the kind of cramp where the toes try to curl and cramp. The last time that happened, I thought it was because I wasn’t hydrated enough but I know I was today. I’ll have to do some more researching on that. I had to sit down once to take my shoe off and massage that foot.

It did calm it down a bit and I continued. I felt very good through mile 10 and as always….in my mind, I thought I’d even go for about 22 miles. I am sure runners do that often in the early part of their run. πŸ™‚

It was a beautiful day in Columbia and my run intersected with Roots ‘n Blues Half-Marathoners. That always inspires me to see other runners of all fitness levels, ages etc.

Again, after I finished, I broke down in the ugly cry. I don’t why I do that. Maybe all the emotions just rush to my head at the end of a long run. I did that on the 18 mile run.

I showered, put on comfy clothes and laid in the bed with my puppies. I can’t tell you how much that heals me with Peyton and Eli laying with their head on me. Kevin waited on me hand and foot and I can’t deny I like that as well! HA!

I was craving Pizza Hut Meatlovers Pan Pizza and he went and got me one. I started thinking about that pizza at mile 15 and thought about it often as my reward. I haven’t had a Pizza Hut Pizza in 5 years or so. It hit the spot!! Oh, and a cold beer.

10288717_10152729671620505_8032462361148640991_n
If You Run 20 miles, You Can Eat This!

Surprising, I feel well and not very sore at all. I did some laundry and walked around the backyard picking up sticks and dog poop. Right now, I feel awesome and no aches or pains. I actually think that is remarkable that I barely feel soreness. Now tomorrow will be another story with the delayed onset soreness.

I’m watching football and reading blogs for the rest of the night. I think I will sleep well tonight.

I’m glad the 20 miler is over. I can’t tell you Β how much that has been in my head lately. I officially start the first week of taper. My mileage starts to go down considerably.

I will have to be careful because I hear that’s when you can gain some weight.

I will do my best to eat healthy, enough and not too much. πŸ™‚

Do you ever have a song that comes on while running that gives you a boost?

“If I can see it, then I can do it, If I just believe it, there’s nothing to it” ~ R Kelly “I Believe I Can Fly”Β 

14 thoughts on “20 Plus a Pizza

  1. Yaaaay!!! I’m soooo happy for you!!! Amazing job!! I’m SO proud of you!! You did it!! Seriously, that’s such a huge accomplishment!! I mean, 20 miles!! Wow!! That’s sooo far!! Big hugs to you!! You deserve lots of rest and relaxation and ohhh yes to pizza!! I love eating pizza after a run!! You’re the best!! XOXO!!

  2. Woot woot! Marathon, here she comes!!! Nice job!

    Songs that put a pep in my step:

    “I can’t stop” – Flux Pavillion
    “Sorry for party rocking” – LMFAO

    And a recent guilty pleasure…”Shake it off” – Taylor Swift

    πŸ™‚

    1. I had just put Shake if Off on my playlist. A funny story…I got tired of same old songs so I just dumped several hundred from an old playlist on it. While I was running yesterday, Chipmunks Christmas song came on! lol It made me smile at a point in that run that I needed it.

Leave a Reply

