Tailgating & Tapering

Kevin and I spend all day Monday in Kansas City tailgating and attending a Kansas City Chiefs v New England Patriots game.

We spend Monday near the stadium. It was a tiring day and I was on my feet all day and night. I went as a guest of one of my suppliers at work and they had the tailgate catered in with a BBQ place in Kansas City.

So….I ate poorly, way too many calories and drank 3 or so bud light. I stopped drinking even before we went in the stadium to watch the game.

Chiefs beat the Patriots handily. It was a great game to watch and as you know….I love football. I love the excitement of being at a football game.

After the game we walked back to our hotel and I showered and crashed.

I also ate a big breakfast at the hotel so all in all….I fell off the junk and high caloric food wagon. I’ve been better the rest of the day and did manage to get in my last run of September….5 miles on the treadmill, sweating and watching Dexter.

We got back home to Columbia very early…we miss our dogs πŸ™‚

The dogsitter took very good care of them and they like her. They were very happy to see us.

Back to work tomorrow and I’ll have an even shorter week because I’m off on Friday going to “Grandfriends” day at Daniel’s school. Popeye and I always enjoy doing that. πŸ™‚

Next week I’ll be in St. Louis all week “Kaizen Leader” training. I will just stay at my apartment and be able to get my runs completed in my neighborhood where I’m comfortable and familiar.

I will miss my dogs for an entire week….oh, and Kevin. πŸ™‚

I’m officially in marathon training taper! My long run on Saturday is only 12 and the next Saturday will be 8.

I think I have gained weight this weekend, I’ve been an eating machine!

I’m exhausted and ready to watch some baseball tonight.

“It doesn’t matter what happens between the starting line and the finish line. All that matters is that you cross both.” ~Β Tracey Maher

5 thoughts on “Tailgating & Tapering

    1. We are not at all worried about the Chargers! HA! πŸ™‚ I said that with my fingers crossed. It was a good game and we had a great time. I have butterflies in my stomach wish this marathon thingie was in my past! Thanks, Rob.

  1. What fun!! Very cool!! Glad you enjoyed yourself!! That’s an important aspect of life! You work hard!! You deserve to eat and enjoy!! You’re beautiful!! XOXO!!!

    1. I do try to enjoy my life and I appreciate being able to do that. I will enjoy it better after I cross the finish line on Oct 19! πŸ™‚ Thanks, Kristin. BTW, do you have a southern accent? Mine is as thick as apple pie! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

