How Long is This Marathon?

I get this question often and had it again this morning…..

Even when you explain it to non-runners…they seem to not grasp it.

My brother-in-law (Orrin) ran a 6k (his first official run) with us last year and told everyone that he ran a marathon. I explained a few times and I think he gets it now. I think he plans on trying to run the “RNR Marathon” in Las Vegas in November and keeps trying to get me to do it. I can’t…I’m sure he won’t but I am happy he is a runner.

Just a note about him.

In 2010, he was at death’s door with a heart condition. Even after they put in his pacemaker , the family was called in to be with him. They told the family IF he lived through the night, he would not live for more than another 5 years and most likely less.

He is now 47 years old. He changed his diet…now runs 5 or 6 miles a day. He works out.

Last year, his doctor told him he was a miracle and they he could technically have the pacemaker removed but they didn’t recommend that. Who wouldn’t want to have a backup, huh? 🙂 Soon after that, he came to visit us for a few weeks in St. Louis, last year.

He ran his first official race (a 6k) last year in St. Louis with Kevin and me. He struggled through it a bit and we helped encourage him. He had never run on anything but a treadmill.

I finished the race first and took his picture at the end. I noticed that he still has that as his Facebook profile.

After it was over….he left us for some alone time and I saw him with tears in his eyes. He was very emotional…so was I. That is another memorable run that I have had in my life.

Orrin #185
Orrin #185 – 46 minutes and 53 seconds not bad for 4 miles. 🙂

16 days and 17 hours…..and butterflies are having a party in my stomach…but it feels more like snakes in my belly.

I am near the end of week 16 of my 18 week marathon training. My miles have dropped considerably. I ran 5 Tuesday, 8 last night and 4 are on tap for tonight.

I haven’t run less than 5 miles in many weeks!

It’s a double-edged sword. I am relieved and happy for the mileage drop but with each drop….I get more and more fearful that I am not ready. It just seems unnatural to be planning to run 26.2 miles but in the weeks leading up to it, dropping off the cliff!

I still want to eat like a horse but my house is spotless!

Yesterday I started pulling back on the reins of my eating. I don’t know how to maintain it right now. I didn’t eat enough calories yesterday but I ate the right balance 55-20-25.

I ate good foods like legumes, turkey, oatmeal, peanut butter, whole wheat pasta…etc..no junk!

I consume water by the gallons! My pee is almost clear! HA!

But I’m scared, nervous, fidgety, edgy, short-fused, giggly, OCD, ADD….you name it!

My run on Saturday is set for 12 miles. My plan is to run the 13.1 front half of the marathon route in St. Louis. The same route that caused me problems back a few weeks ago. That bad experience is still in my head and I need to at least calm it down.

The temps are cooler with a high of 58 degrees and sunny on Saturday. Which will definitely make it a bit easier. The forecast for Oct 19 is a high of 64 degrees but chances of rain.

I know I like running in the rain but not 26.1 miles…so please, no! 🙂

Weather is subject to change of course.

I’ll TRY!

I’m ready??????

“The marathon is a charismatic event. It has everything. It has drama. It has competition. It has camaraderie. It has heroism. Every runner can’t dream of being an Olympic champion, but he can dream of finishing a marathon.” ~Fred Lebow, New York City Marathon co-founder

4 thoughts on “How Long is This Marathon?

  1. You’ll do great!! I used to love having those butterflies in the final weekdays leading up to the race, it was a great motivator for me to get out there and run and know that I could accomplish anything!
    Oh, and one last thing…don’t forget about 5-hour energy drinks. one before you run and one in the middle of the run can do wonders!! 🙂

  2. You’ll do great. I’m so excited for you. I know that people don’t know what a marathon is. I don’t get it. I’ve always known. After my 5k my cousin told people I did a marathon. I’m like really? Not even close. I have had to correct her several times.

  3. Ohhh yes you ARE ready and you’re going to rock it!! You’re doing everything you need to do to GET IT marathon day!! Trust yourself and what you’ve accomplished!! Definitely feel proud!! Also, what a touching story about your brother-in-law!! Wow, how inspirational!! Seriously, he has so much strength!! Just amazing!! Happy Friday!! Have a great long run this weekend!! XOXO!

Leave a Reply

