The Cardinals and 12 Sweet Ones

Don’t you just love it when all your best laid plans fall apart and you have to be “clutch” and change courses? I love the word “clutch.”

First, I thought Daniel’s “Grand-Friends” day was this Friday and found out at the last-minute it is next Friday, Oct 10.

Then, I found out that my new iPhone 6 was supposed to arrive on Thursday….Kevin’s did, mine did not. So they told me it would be in Friday….I delayed my plans coming to St. Louis so I could pick it up. It did not come in.

They said….oh, it will definitely be in early Saturday morning. So I decided to stay in Columbia and get up early Saturday morning and do my long run “12 miles” and shower, pick up my cell phone and head to St. Louis.

I get to Best Buy…and guess what? No phone. So due to being in St. Louis until next Sunday…I don’t know when I will get that phone.

I have training for work “Kaizen Leader” training in St. Louis for this coming week so I packed a lot of clothes to spend the week.

Kevin and my puppies stayed in Columbia. I won’t get to see my boys for a week. 😦

They will be in St. Louis Thursday night and Grand-Friends day with Daniel on Friday.


Ok, about my 12 mile run this morning…

I made a 12 mile route in Columbia that I felt would give me the biggest challenge… hills, turns, inclines, declines etc. (no trails) It was a very tough route and I have to say this may have been my best run.

The temps were not even 50 when I started but it was sunny and beautiful. I love running in cool weather. For the first time on a long run, I maintained a faster than normal pace. The hills were killers but I enjoyed this run.

Afterward, I was not even tired, hungry or a bit sore.

What I have noticed in my last 3 or 4 long runs is that I have not been sore afterward or very little. I can definitely feel my fitness level coming up but is it too late?

Right now, I’m reclining on the sofa in my St. Louis apartment, missing my boys watching football.

It’s cool outside but beautiful. And I do not have any part of my body sore.

I’m very happy about that. And yet….I’m still very worried about running 26.2 miles in a few weeks.

I’ll do my normal weekly miles here in St. Louis once I get out of the training each night. The miles are dropping off so I shouldn’t have any problem getting them in before it gets dark. I love running in the area that I live so it should be pleasurable.

The kids are coming over and we are going out to dinner. I get to see my sweet little kiddies. Daniel is spending the night.

And St. Louis Cardinals meet up with the LA Dodgers for the 2nd game in the playoff. The Cardinals took the first game and the Kansas City Royals won their 2nd!

KEEP CALM AND LOVE YADI Poster

Go Missouri teams!  I’m looking forward to hockey season soon.

Tomorrow is supposed to be high 70 and sunny tomorrow. I think Daniel and I will go exploring in Forest Park and go to his favorite breakfast place.

I have every intention of enjoying this week.

“Baseball, it is said, is only a game. True. And the Grand Canyon is only a hole in Arizona. Not all holes, or games, are created equal.” ~ George Will 

5 thoughts on “The Cardinals and 12 Sweet Ones

  1. Congrats on feeling good on the 12 miler! That’s a great sign! One of my twins loves all of dad’s teams, so the both of us watched the game last night. What a nail biter at the end. GO CARDS!

    1. These Cardinals make me more nervous than the looming marathon! That’s very cool to like his Dad’s teams. A special bond is made watching baseball. I had that with my dad. Thanks, Rob!

      1. Well based on what I know about you from following your blog, you’re type-A (like me) which means we analyze, obsess, think of how things can go wrong more than how they go right, etc. It’s just part of your process and that’s okay 🙂

Leave a Reply

