Some Days Are Gold

Daniel spend the night last night and fell asleep beside me before we could even do our normal talks about all the girls he has a crush on this week.

Firetrucks woke us both up at about 3am at the apartment building across the street. But we quickly went back to sleep. I slept like a baby.

We were back up for breakfast and headed to Forest Park. We explored, went to old secret places, fed ducks, found cool clam shells, skipped rocks, pretended we had superpowers….basically saved St. Louis from zombies.

Zombies
Zombies

Daniel said something today that made me stop and smile…and think. He was climbing high up on a monument so he could get a better look at the city.

Me: Daniel, what if you fall?

Daniel: What if I don’t?

We should all live our lives with that simple statement in mind…from the mouth and mind of a 7 year old. 🙂


Allison and Sadie joined us at Brasserie for brunch. James worked today. After a delicious, healthy and leisurely brunch, we went to the zoo for the rest of the day.

This day made my heart happy….♥♥♥♥

The weather could not have been more perfect. It was 65-70 and sunny all day. And all the animals at the zoo were out and about for a change!

We went to the petting zoo where Sadie chased the goats trying to brush them. She had her first carousel ride.

1966917_10152750179195505_916221688113444836_n

My body felt good. I was relaxed. I had tons of energy. I smiled and laughed a lot. I enjoyed my kiddies and Allison.

10672089_10152750153230505_369776565683111043_n

It was a perfect day. I could write the rest of the night and not express how good this day was.

10600368_10152750452940505_1821470116440668395_n

Allison and the kids dropped me off at my apartment. I even ran half a mile to our local grocery and shopped for dinner tonight and breakfast in the morning.

Even though Monday is a rest day, I think I will try to get a run in early in the morning. My running schedule is Tuesday – 4miles, Wednesday – 6 miles, Thursday – 3, Saturday 8.

My work (kaizen leader) training starts tomorrow afternoon 1-5pm about 15 miles away from my apartment. The rest of the week will be 8-5 T, W, Th and Grandparents day at Daniel’s school on Friday.

If I could choose one day to end my life on, it would be today.

The idea that no one is perfect is a view most commonly held by people with no grandchildren.” ~ Doug Larson

3 thoughts on “Some Days Are Gold

  1. Awwwww!!! Oh my gosh, you seriously made me tear up!! Just so beautiful!! I love the part about not falling! Hmm…very wise advice and I think I can learn from that, especially after my disappointing half marathon performance. Such incredible advice! Thanks for this beautiful post and I’m So happy you had literally THE BEST day!! WONDERFUL!!! Love your quote, too!! Happy Monday!! I know you’ll have great runs this week!! XOXO! 🙂

Leave a Reply

