A Strawberry Split and a Marathon

My hope is that this time next week, I will be sore, exhausted, hungry, happy and a marathoner. πŸ™‚

That is my hope….but I have one worry….that I will not be a completer.

I am entering the last week of taper and I already have butterflies in my stomach.

I finished the last of my longer Saturday runs. I ran 8.5 miles yesterday and I will say it may have been the best run of my life.

I had been feeling so sluggish and worried that I had not eaten properly or drank enough water….I also worried that I had put on a few pounds.

It was a scheduled 8 mile run and I decided to run it from my apartment to downtown St. Louis. I did it solo because Kevin stayed home with Daniel. I didn’t even worry about doing it by myself because 8 miles doesn’t seem too long…and it was a cool morning. I knew I would only need the water that I took in my handheld. I didn’t take a lot of fuel but did consume shot blocks.

There were protesters downtown in St. Louis because another police shooting took place where an 18-year-old was killed. The protesters seemed to be peaceful so I didn’t worry about it.

I’ll say it again….that 8 miles was my best run! I started out a bit slow and sluggish but at mile 4, I started to feel like I had wings on my feet! I even got that elusive runner’s high and kept it for several miles. I felt great. My splits were negative from mile 4 on and my last several miles were under 10 pace which is huge for me!

Now, I never expected that nor will I attempt that in my marathon but I felt giddy during that run. I know it must have shown on my face because people were smiling and waving at me along the route.

After the run, I still felt a bit buzzed for hours after and not a bit tired.

Now, I know it’s not 26.2 but after more than a few runs and some even shorter than 8 miles made me feel like crying….it was good to finish my last Saturday long run on that high. πŸ™‚

I worry that I am not ready but on that morning, I think I’ll feel excited. Like I’ve said before, I am not a speed runner by any means….but I do have stamina and I am counting on that next Sunday! I just want to finish on my feet with a smile on my face and tears in my eyes.

This has been a crazy journey for me. From almost 300 lbs on September 29, 2009 to the arduous marathon training with blood, sweat and tears….to marathoner? Can that happen for me??

I don’t know how I will handle it if I don’t finish….whether it be because of fatigue or an injury. I just don’t know. I don’t want to talk or think about that.

My goal for the coming week is to eat healthy, rest, eat plenty of carbs, hydrate well, enjoyΒ my little runs…and try to relax. I will be working so that will help the mental aspect. The weather is much cooler now so that makes it more pleasurable and not as hard on my body.

Marathons have been in the air lately and I kept track of things happening at the Chicago Marathon. I was so proud for all those people. But I am most proud of people like me who struggle to finish. I admire the fast runners and competitors…but my heart is with the ones who never thought they could…like me.


I had another great weekend with my kiddies. Grand-friends day at Daniel’s school was so good. Kevin and I beamed with pride when he showed us his work. He’s very smart, creative, funny, and caring. Of course all grandparents say that about their kids…but Daniel really is! πŸ™‚

Daniel and Me at Grand-Friends Day

We checked him out of school early and spent the next 2 days with him. We even went to an old fashioned fountain shop and he had his first banana split. When they brought that beautiful masterpiece to the table, his eyes got so big! He even mentioned he could check that off his list….I didn’t know kids had bucket lists! πŸ™‚

I Feel Like a Kid When I’m With Him

We kept Sadie and Daniel all afternoon yesterday and I was happy, relaxed and worn out! She is a bossy little 20 month old! She reminds me of…me!

My Girl, Sadie
They are Perfect

I’m back at my Columbia home for the first time in over a week. It feels so good. Kevin made a delicious and healthy chicken tortilla soup for dinner. I’m watching my Cardinals and hopefully they will play better than they did last night. I’m now all charged, relaxed and ready for my final week of taper and hopefully, this time next week….I will a marathoner grandma!

β™₯Go St. Louis Cardinalsβ™₯

β€œBut I also realize that winning doesn’t always mean getting first place; it means getting the best out of yourself.” ~ Meb Keflezighi

15 thoughts on “A Strawberry Split and a Marathon

  1. Yaaay!!! Glad you had a fantastic 8 mile run and YOU WILL be a marathoner next week!! I’m so excited for you and proud of you!! You are one super lady!! Keep your chin up and your mind calm because you got it goin’ on!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ OH YEAH!!! xoxoxo

  2. Isn’t the marathon a perfect analog for the you in for past few years? It’s a long, endurance challenging event that tests your mettle every step of the way. From your weight to the race, you’re a marathon runner. You’re in it for the long haul, regardless if it’s a race or losing weight. Whatever the outcome of this marathon, you’re already a winner. ❀

  3. Just think – the hardest part is over! The long training, the rough runs… You are so close to the finish line. All you have to do is show up and run! Lucky girl! You will be amazing!

  4. I know you’ll make it. Even if you have to crawl over the finish line. Doesn’t matter how you get there. And even if something like an injury occurs you can’t beat yourself up. The year my brother went to do his was a hot day and if you weren’t so far by a certain time they turned you to the half. Shit sometimes happens. He never has gotten back to do it because of knee issues. But I truly think you got this. You know you’ve trained so you’re ready. Let us know how it goes.

    1. Thank you so much for your support. I have butterflies in my stomach all time and ready for it to be complete! I’ll update on Sunday afternoon….good or bad. At least with this marathon, they give a 7 hour time limit so barring something awful, that should be plenty of time. That’s why I chose Rock ‘n Roll because of the time limits. πŸ™‚

      1. I didn’t know that one has a longer time limit. Good to know just in case I get a hair somewhere to do a marathon. I would definitely want the extra time in case of blisters or what not that slows one down. I wish I could tell you not to be nervous but I think most people would be. I’ve gotten nervous even at my 5k. I’m so excited for you.

      2. I will most likely need the extra time! πŸ™‚ My biggest fear is a foot cramp which I have gotten after mile 17 or so. You never know, you may be there someday. I suspect you might. I get nervous at 5ks also. It’s something about it…not sure what. I always get better after the start buzzer…but I’m not sure with a marathon. It’s new territory to me! Thanks for your support. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

