Mama, Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Fatties

I want to do a bit of a rant about parents of overweight children.

Look around you, count the kids you see for 10 minutes…then do a ratio of overweight to non-overweight. Astounding!

As a kid growing up fat, I especially have a sensitiveness about overweight girls.

This may not be politically correct but I think there are too many parents and particularly mothers telling their little girls that they are beautiful no matter what size they are.

That may be true and it’s important to help them develop self-esteem but what about their health?

I get so sick of people blowing off their overweightedness and calling themselves curvy. You know..you see the “memes” all over Facebook.

Curvy is Marilyn Monroe…not a young woman who weighs 250 lbs or more!

I don’t advocate for bone skinny people either. I advocate for healthy!

Can it be that hard to explain to your children that eating too much, consuming junk food and sitting around playing video games will cause them to be unhealthy?

I don’t think you have to make the overweight children suffer and never give them goodies, just limit them and explain it and guide them to healthier snacks.

Could it hurt to explain to them the importance of eating healthy food most of the time, sugar snacks within moderation and going outside and to play?

Another thing that pisses me off, the government trying to regulate school lunches to make kids eat healthier. That will never work! It’s the parents or adults in those kids lives who should teach, control and regulate what they should eat. Teach it not mandate it!

According to the American Heart Association, 1 in 3 children are overweight.

In children ages 2 – 19 years old

  • For non-Hispanic whites, 17.5 percent of males and 14.7 percent of females.
  • For non-Hispanic blacks, 22.6 percent of males and 24.8 percent of females.
  • For Mexican Americans, 28.9 percent of males and 18.6 percent of females.ย 

I was an overweight girl by the time I went to 1st grade. I still don’t know why because my brothers and sisters were not overweight. So I can’t necessarily blame it on what I ate because I ate what they ate….except more.

Truthfully, I am the pot calling the kettle black. I did not encourage my son to eat right either. His diet growing up was fast and junkie food most of the time. As he got to be a young teen, he cared less and less about exercise and playing outside. Video games became his past time. I am deeply ashamed of that. I wish I had a do-over.ย He is still suffering from that now at 35 yeas old.

I am happy that they are teaching my grandkiddies about healthy lifestyles. Daniel and Sadie will grow up understanding that junkie snacks are a treat and not part of their diet. ๐Ÿ™‚

Weight problems and obesity in children cause health problems such as:

  • type 2 diabetes
  • high blood pressure
  • high cholesterol
  • bone and joint problems
  • asthma
  • restless or disordered sleep patterns
  • liver and gall bladder disease
  • depression and low self-esteem

Also, teens who are overweight are more likely to commit suicide than other teens.


Maybe I am being judgemental because I spent most of my life as an obese person so what gives me the right.

My rant stemmed from last night.

I was standing in line at a grocery store in the checkout line behind an obese woman with a buggy full of food and 2 very obese children standing beside her. This girl and boy could neither have been 10 years old. That entire buggy was full of junky food for that family to eat. I did not see one healthy item put on that belt. Her total food cost was like $160 of pure shit.

I looked at those little kids and my heart was breaking. I wanted so bad to ask that mama did she not love her kids.

I know what I wanted to say was totally none of my business and would be hurtful to people which is why I would NEVER say it and only write about it on my blog.

โ€œMore die in the United States of too much food than of too littleโ€ โ€• John Kenneth Galbraith

9 thoughts on “Mama, Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Fatties

  1. I don’t know why parents do this. Is it ignorance? Denial? Do they feel like a hypocrite if they are obese and ask their children to eat healthy and be active? This really is a crisis for our country. I think there is so much education and information out there now, hopefully the trend will start to reverse. You and I have taken action for our own selves to set an example. We also continuously, lovingly try to educate our families. I am fortunate that none of my three adult children are overweight, but they do not eat well at all. I am very encouraged that our food supply has more healthy options available now and that the practices of the big food companies that supply the unhealthy foods are being more and more exposed. Maybe the trend will slowly reverse??

    1. Cynthia, I think you may be right. Maybe they do it partly because they can’t control how they eat and hate to preach it to their kids. This is a crisis in our country and even in the UK. I feel like a hypocrite for even feeling that way because I was so big for so long. I wish I had not wasted so much of my life obese, inactive and unhealthy. Healthy feels so much better. I hope the trend reverses but from what I see all around, I don’t feel so hopeful. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. Charlotte, I don’t think you’re being judgmental at all, you are merely speaking your mind and sharing a bit about your past. You have a very passionate heart and I do agree that parents should teach their kids to eat healthy and in turn, this will lead to higher self-esteem and good health. You’re an amazing woman!! xoxo

  3. I wholeheartedly agree with you on this one, Charlotte, but I think that this is an epidemic that has reached epic proportions and if something isn’t done soon, obesity will be killing off people of all ages faster than you can say “Pass the kale”. We are a fat nation. We are a nation of convenient, processed crap-eaters. As someone who eats a healthy plant-based diet and has been active for the last 5 years, it’s really hard to remember what it was like when I, too, fed my family and myself crap because it was fast and convenient, and yes, it tasted good. My kids were never obese, though. They were always active in sports and I always encouraged them to play outside instead of sitting in front of the TV all day. Somehow we found a balance.
    It’s hard to get people to eat a diet of fruits, veggies, whole grains, etc. when processed stuff is cheaper and more easily accessible. When was the last time you saw a commercial for fresh apples or a fresh, healthy salad (not loaded with cheese, dressing, and bacon)? Instead we see commercials for big, greasy cheeseburgers overloaded with onion rings and bacon, or pizza with cheese stuffed in the crusts.
    I don’t know what the answer is, though. I try to be a role model and just take care of myself and hope that somehow I inspire others to eat healthier. It’s hard to feel sympathy, though, for people who have health issues due to their weight and sedentary lifestyle. Get off your ass and do something, is what I want to say, but that would politically incorrect, wouldn’t it? Stop going through the drive-through at McDonald’s and buy a bag of pre-washed salad mix is what I want to scream at people, but then I’d be an asshole. (Yet it’s okay for people to tell me to have some bacon, even though I’m vegan – who is being the asshole??).
    Wow, see what you started? Once I get started on this subject, I can’t seem to stop talking, but I really do think it’s important for people to talk about this. Talking turns to action, which turns to change, don’t you think?

    1. I do agree that eating healthy is more expensive but not impossible. Even if parents get frozen veggies, skinless chicken breast etc….and make a dinner…is better than that quick frozen pizza, lasagna, hotdogs, hamburgers etc. My husband and I were discussing this the other night, I agree that commercials target junk food eating but that’s because they know that is what people want! Even with all that, parents have a responsibility to steer kids away from that and explain that while it’s ok to have ocassionally, eating that crap all time will make them sick. They should put it in terms that kids understand. And it is hard to feel sympathy for inactive people. I feel guilty even saying it or thinking it but I see all those big people riding down the street, in malls, supermarket in those motorized rascals and I get pissed! I could talk all day on this! It angers me to see it. I just feel so sorry for those obese kids. The kids I was talking about in my post…that little boy’s eyes met mine and he looked sad and embarrassed. That hurt me and I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I hope you are right about change and action. I’m a bit pessimistic over that. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. Thank you for this post! I’ve had a lot of the same thoughts and with the new “body positive” movement, it does feel very un-PC to share them. While I think it’s important for people to have high self-esteem that is not based on one’s appearance, it’s also important to recognize when you have an unhealthy life-style and need to make changes. I agree that there is a difference between curvy and fat, and there are also some skinny people who are very unhealthy too…the bottom line is it’s important to value a healthy life-style and to take care of your body. It’s not a question of self-worth, you absolutely should love yourself no matter what your size is, but you can love yourself and still try to make positive life-style changes at the same time.

    I also don’t like the aspect of the “body positive” movement that almost shames people who are active and “skinny”. I have always been pretty active, but there was a short period in my life where I put on some weight. I started running and eating healthy again and lost 30 lbs. I was proud of myself for making positive changes and living a healthier life-style and would think that the people around me would be happy for me. But instead, I started getting negative comments about how “I looked too skinny”, “Lost my booty”, and “Needed to eat a cheese burger”. Now why is that O.K. and what is wrong with me being happy and confident in my own skin, just like anyone who happens to be carrying a few extra pounds? Not that my body is perfect, but it took a lot of hard work to get into the shape that I am in now.

    Last, yes I think parents should take more responsibility in teaching their children how to eat healthy and be active. Establishing a healthy life-style at a young age is something that is going to have life long benefits. It’s so much easier to continue a healthy lifestyle than it is to have to unlearn unhealthy habits. I try to teach my daughter to be healthy, and we NEVER discuss weight or physical appearance. I just tell her that exercise is good for the body, and show her how it can be fun (By doing races, hiking, playing Dance Party on the Wii,etc). I also tell her the importance of eating healthy MOST of the time, and that it is also O.K. to enjoy treats on occasion. Not because it keeps her from being a “fattie” but because it gives her a healthy body that is capable of doing so much!

    I guess that’s my rant on the topic! Lol ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. You made such a great point. I lost 127 lbs and people tell me constantly that I have no ass, too skinny, eat a hamburger! haha I overheard someone tell another that “all she eats is salads!” Boy, if they just knew. I think you are a great role model for your little girl. It is important that we help build their self esteem but just as important to make sure they are healthy and get the most out of life. You also have a great point about not discussing body or weight. Little kids don’t have to hear that, necessarily. If parents just put it in the context of “I want you to be healthy, happy and live a great life” kind of talk. You showing your little girl about running, exercise, dancing..is a wonderful way to express how much you care about her health. “Body Positive” is a good concept in theory but body positive to me means healthy. I’m afraid it is just doing the opposite. I was an overweight teenage girl and that is a miserable life. I wish I could have those days over! ๐Ÿ™‚ Wow, I could rant all day on this! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. A-FREAKING-MEN!!!!! It infuriates me. It’s no one’s fault but the parents’ because kids can only eat what parents buy for them. A have a little story to share… it happened a couple of years ago. It flew all over me then and has stuck with me and still pisses me off to this day. I was in line at the grocery, and you know how they have all those snacks there at the counter… well this kid was with her (VERY overweight) mother. She picked up a snack pack of peanuts and asked if she could have them. Her mom’s response? “No, put those back. You don’t need those. We’re fixing to go to McDonald’s.”

    SMFH

Leave a Reply

