Better Than Perfect

I’ve been so busy this weekend that I haven’t had a chance to update.

I have another work training week in St. Louis this week so I drove up by myself again on Friday. I really hate leaving Kevin and the dogs. I miss them very much but I’ve also enjoyed my time here. It feels like “me time!”

The weather has been incredible and the fall colors are indescribable.

When I got into St. Louis Friday afternoon, I decided to go for my first run since the marathon last Sunday. It was a sluggish 3 miles and my legs felt like lead but the neighborhood and weather was beautiful plus I ran for fun and I enjoyed it.

I showered and dressed up a bit and ate at a restaurant that I’ve been wanting to go to for a long time “Evangeline’s Bistro”…..a touch of New Orleans in St. Louis. I had Duck and a drink called “Champagne and Lace!” It’s a beautiful restaurant that plays jazz and the food was excellent.

1979563_10152795906450505_5015079643891934489_n

I got up feeling so good on Saturday morning that I decided to run. I ran 4 miles and I felt great! I enjoyed that run so much that I remembered why I liked running. I felt like a kid running.

After my shower, I went to the plaza and watched the kids and pets in their Halloween parade. James, Daniel and Sadie came over and we ate lunch at Gringos. I kept the kids for a while while James run some errands and Daniel spend the night. We had a great time. πŸ™‚

I spent time with both the kids today and we played in all the leaves at Forest Park.

Fall is especially beautiful this year.

Also, I order new running shoes that I’ve wanted to try and I found a great discount so it was time. They should arrive at my home tomorrow but I’m not home!

1900108_10152793794775505_3144085264048741572_n

I’ve had a better than perfect day. Anytime I spend time with Daniel and Sadie…it’s a good day.

Tonight after I walked around the neighborhood for a couple of hours, I showered and went to another restaurant that I have been wanting to try for a long time. “Taste

I had the best dish that I’ve ever had in all my vast restaurant experience. And a great atmosphere.

~RIP Oscar Tavares (St. Louis Cardinals)~

6 thoughts on “Better Than Perfect

  1. Sounds like some pretty cool me-time and time with the grandkids. πŸ™‚ I love trying new restaurants and I’m always on the lookout for a new one to try. That must have felt really good to get back to running after your little break. RIP Oscar.

  2. oooh sounds like a LOVELY time was had!!! Now THOSE running shoes are interesting, i have seent hem in the press, but not on the shelves here in the UK… tell tell πŸ™‚ Why did you choose those?

    1. I’ve read than they are loved by ultra marathoners in particular. Not that I plan that kind of run but they are said to be the plushest ride you can have! Plus they had them discounted heavily so I thought I’d give them a try. I did try on a pair and the almost weigh nothing even though they look like they weigh a lot. πŸ™‚

  3. Cool shoes! Can’t wait to hear how you like them! I love my non-training runs. No pressure, just running for the enjoyment and exercise! But to be honest, I miss the discipline of a training program and will be glad when marathon training begins in a couple of months! Your grandkids are adorable, by the way! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

