St. Louis and Pajamas

I have not been running so much lately. I don’t know if it’s laziness, weather or what but I just don’t.

I still love running and I am doing my share on the weekends but not during the week. I was the same last year so maybe nothing much has changed. This time last year I was getting ready for my surgery.

I’m trying to get off those few pounds from Thanksgiving….that is proving to be very difficult for me and especially since I went from running 120 miles a month down to 50! lol

But  I have been busy online shopping! As people who know me know, I am not a shopper. I don’t like malls, stores, crowds etc.

But lately, I have found my kind of shopping….online shopping and I am spending the $$$!

I love shopping while reclined on the sofa in pajamas! My favorite shopping is still running gear and yes, I bought another pair of running shoes. I can’t resist and this is the 4th pair in the last 5 months!

I used to be the most boring running shoe wearer in the United States. The brighter and gaudier the shoe, the more likely I am to buy it.

I also used to only wear Nike. I don’t even own a pair of Nikes anymore. My current rotation is Asics, Brooks, Hoka and now…Saucony.  I always get the neutral shoe that best fits my strike and stride.

My new rids are Saucony Ride 7! A
My new rids are Saucony Ride 7!

My saucony rides came in the post yesterday and I took them out for a 3.2 mile drive. Each shoe makes me feel different. I am enjoying wearing my hokas but I like changing up. The rides feel great on my feet but I felt some issues this morning.

This week, I have purchased jeans, Blues Hockey shirts, gloves, boots….all while comfortably reclined in PJs sipping a Schlafly Pumpkin Ale!

Merry Christmas to me! 🙂

The week of Dec 15, I will be traveling to Nashville Vanderbilt University Hospital where my brother has his visit with his liver transplant doctor and team. He is not yet on the list but we are hoping that he will be placed on it. I haven’t seen my brother in person in years. We talk on text and phone but not in person. I will be so happy to see him. My baby sister will be meeting me there and I am happy to see her. I’ll be in Nashville for the entire week and I hope I come back home with hope in my heart but for now, I am not optimistic. He seems to be and that is important.

This time of year is always such a happy time for me and it still is. I love the season, the music, the trees, the decorations but more than anything….it makes me think of family. It takes me back to when I was a little girl with my mom, dad, 2 brothers and 2 sisters….many aunts, uncles and cousins.

Christmas makes me sentimental and calm.

I miss Tennessee.

After I get back from Nashville, TN….I’ll get to spend Christmas with Daniel, Sadie, Kevin, Allison, James…Peyton and Eli.

St. Louis is going through a lot right now, but it is a beautiful city with so much to offer people of all races, religions etc….don’t believe what the media is leading people to believe.

City Garden in St. Louis, MO
City Garden in St. Louis, MO

I don’t post as much as I used to. I guess when I’m not training, I don’t have as much to complain about. 🙂

P.S. I do love Mannheim Steamroller Christmas Music…plus anything by Elvis!

T.S Eliot and Tennessee Williams boyhood homes are on my block where I have an apartment in St. Louis. Williams wrote the “Glass Menegerie” in that home.

“It is self-evident that St. Louis affected me more deeply than any other environment has ever done. I feel that there is something in having passed one’s childhood beside the big river, which is incommunicable to those people who have not. I consider myself fortunate to have been born here, rather than in Boston, or New York, or London.” – T.S. Eliot

3 thoughts on “St. Louis and Pajamas

  1. I’m loving online shopping, too. The only drawback is late deliveries, and then the boys are all over it. Sitting back, sipping coffee and avoiding lines has put a lot of the joy back in Christmas. I hope that your brother gets on the list soon! It’s good that he is optimistic, and I’m sure that he’ll love to see you in person when you visit.

  2. LOVE those Saucony’s!!!! i also only wear NIkes at the moment, LOVE my Free5’s but in the new year i am going to go to the propper running hsop, get accessed (spelling?) and get properly fitted…. wooo this girl is getting serious!
    Enjoy your shopping 🙂 and keep posting xxx

Leave a Reply

