Bailey’s, Griswolds and Ugly Sweaters

Once again, I’m away from Kevin, Peyton, Eli and my home in Columbia.

I am in St. Louis alone again and at a time when I’d prefer not to be here and especially at this time of year. I am off from work for most of the rest of the month.

I came here to check on the apartment and bring Christmas gifts for the kids to put under my tree. And also break up my long drive to Nashville, Tennessee that I will be making on Monday.

I will drive there on Monday and meet with my brother and hopefully his doctors to see how he is coming along to be placed on the liver transplant list. I am disappointed because he told me the other day that he hasn’t done much of what they told him he had to do to prove he wanted a liver and be placed on the list. It’s his choice and I won’t try to convince him to do what he needs to do. I just want to see him and visit with him for a while.

The drive to Nashville is 7 hours from Columbia but 5 from St. Louis. I will only get to see Jimmy (my brother) for a short while because he said he had to go back to his home in Alabama that afternoon. I am hoping that I get to meet with his doctor with him and his girlfriend.

I booked 2 nights at a hotel on Honky Tonk row or known as Music Row. The hotel is in heart of everything and in front of the Capital. Nashville is a beautiful. clean and safe city. I thought I’d spend some time sightseeing and make the most out of my trip. I haven’t been to Nashville since 1998 so I do miss my home of Tennessee.

My baby sister may meet me there and if she does, we’ll hit the strip and have a bit of fun.

I have already mapped out some 3 and 5 miles runs so I can exercise while I am there.

I should be back in St. Louis on Wednesday night. I have a follow-up appointment with my plastic surgeon on Friday for my 1 year check up. So I will be away from Kevin and my pups until next Saturday or Sunday. 😦

I will visit with my kiddies a few days and do some shopping and maybe so see some of the beautiful Christmas lights in St. Louis to make the most of my time.

I did get in a 6.2 mile run around the perimeter of Forest Park this afternoon when I got in town.

I’ve been a bit weepy and down lately and I think a lot of it may be that I am not getting enough exercise. I did today and I do feel so much better.

I’ve spent my night closed up in my apartment tonight sipping Bailey’s Vanilla Cinnamon, watching Christmas Vacation and making a “Christmas Ugly Sweater.” I have enjoyed doing that so much more than I imagined that I would.

I’m not finished yet but I am liking this!

I have not had much of an appetite tonight which surprises me but maybe that 6.2 mile run helped curb it. I didn’t even go out tonight for dinner and with so many awesome places I could have chosen. I ate a frozen dinner from Trader Joe’s that has been in my apartment freezer for months! HA~

Kevin and I did some shopping for Daniel and Sadie and I need to wrap them tonight or early morning. They may come for a visit tomorrow and Daniel is very nosey about Christmas presents! 🙂

I plan on a nice slow run in the morning. I will be signing up for the Go!St. Louis Half Marathon soon so I can have something to train for. I can’t devote that kind of time in the winter to sign up for the marathon. I’ve run the Go! St. Louis Half marathon for the last 2 years. It is a run that I enjoy and love participating in it.

I do plan on doing another marathon next year but it will likely be toward the end of 2015 and probably the Rock ‘n Roll in Las Vegas with my brother in law.

I’m reclined on the sofa now in near dark with my beautiful Christmas tree watching the St. Louis Blues. They are doing a live big screen showing of the St. Louis Blues tonight at a Steinberg Ice Rink in Forest Park near my house. I wanted to go there and watch some of it around a campfire watching all the ice skaters but I forgot the game didn’t come on until 9 pm and it’s not a good idea for me to walk there and back in the dark. Maybe another time.

I have always thought that I could relate to Clark Griswold in Christmas Vacation. I always try way beyond what is necessary to make sure everyone has a fun time at Christmas or other times. I am Clark. 🙂

“I don’t know if I oughta go sailin’ down no hill with nothin’ between the ground and my brain but a piece of government plastic.” ~Cousin Eddie – Christmas Vacation

5 thoughts on “Bailey’s, Griswolds and Ugly Sweaters

  1. Awwww, I love your sweater!! It’s absolutely fabulous just like you!! I’m glad to hear that you’re feeling much better today!! Great job on your run!! I hope you have a lovely Sunday!! You’re the best- never forget that!! Thinking about you!! XOXO

  2. The holidays can bring an emotional roller coaster, can’t they? Exercise does help, so you’re definitely doing the right thing! Sending prayers for your brother!
    I’m thinking of doing the Rock ‘n Roll marathon in New Orleans next January. How much fun would that be? Hopefully the money for the trip will be in our budget. We’ll see how my first marathon in June goes, though. Who knows? One marathon might be enough for me! (Somehow I doubt it, though!)
    Merry Christmas!

  3. Congratulations on your run! One thing I’ve learned having depression is to make running a priority, so I usually do it even when I don’t want to go out.

    I’m sorry about your brother. One of my friend’s nephews had a heart transplant, and she too was frustrated with his lack of self-care. My brother is bipolar, and the only way I could deal with it is to put up boundaries. It’s a hard thing, but keep at it!

  4. I love the sweater and that you’re enjoying making it! I hope this week goes by fast and you find some things during your time away from home that you can treasure and have good memories over. Hopefully a new training plan will help you with your blues. It must be hard to end marathon training and jump right into the holiday season.

Leave a Reply

