And So It Ends….2014

Each Year End I Summarize My Year ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. I turned 54.
  2. I finished recovering from my body and arm lift surgery from December.
  3. I enjoyed a flat stomach for the first time in my adult life (I still smile at this).
  4. I stayed married to my best friend.
  5. I stayed gainfully employed.
  6. My son and daughter in law are great parents to my kiddies.
  7. I found out in March that my brother Jimmy was very ill.
  8. I still lived in 2 wonderfully different cities (Columbia and St. Louis Missouri).
  9. I got to spend another year with the 2 lights of my life (Daniel and Sadie).
  10. My 2 dogs continue to make me a better person than before I had them in my life.
  11. I ran for the 3rd time in the St. Louis Annual St. Patrick’s Day 5 Miler.
  12. I ran Go! St. Louis Half Marathon in April for the 2nd time soon after I recovered from my surgery.
  13. Allison (my daughter in law) graduated from Nursing School with aย Masters Degree at St. Louis University School of Nursing.
  14. I soon registered for my first marathon. (Rock ‘n Roll St. Louis)
  15. I trained 4 hard months for my first marathon and most during the heat of summer.
  16. I learned much about myself during marathon training.
  17. I ran a lot this year and never regretting one mile.
  18. Long training runs made me feel both like shit and invincible.
  19. I enjoyed wearing summer clothes for the first time in my adult life.
  20. I loved my body this past year….never said that before.
  21. Daniel spent a week in the summer with us in Columbia…maybe the best week of my life ๐Ÿ™‚
  22. We didn’t go on a vacation this year to California and Las Vegas like we always do:-(
  23. I kept a blog all year!
  24. I got acquainted with many cool and great people on WordPress.
  25. I completed my first Marathon on Oct 19, 2014!!!!!! (Rock ‘n Roll Marathon – St. Louis)
  26. Having my family waiting for me at the finish line was emotional for me and one of the highlights of my life.
  27. I got to meet some Facebook runner friends that were running in the Rock ‘n Roll in STL
  28. I drove to Nashville, Tenn to be with my brother, Jimmy at his liver doctor visit.ย I hadn’t seen him in years.
  29. I spent a fun night out on the town with my baby sister, Barbara in Nashville who I haven’t seen in years.
  30. I didn’t see Barry or Beverly (brother and sister) at all this past year.
  31. I become Kaizen Leader training and certified.
  32. I spent more time alone in St. Louis this year than in the past.
  33. I wore Hoka One One running shoes for the first time and loved them.
  34. I spent Halloween with Daniel and Sadie in SoHaย (South Hampton) in St. Louis…..I enjoyed it more than they did.
  35. My kids cooked an awesome Thanksgiving dinner for us in St. Louis…I was impressed.
  36. I was sad that Joe Cocker died.
  37. I made an ugly Christmas sweater and wore it!
  38. I enjoyed Christmas with my family and especially Daniel and Sadie.
  39. Daniel came to spend a couple of days with us in Columbia before the end of the year.
  40. James, Allison, Daniel and Sadie spent December 30 and New Years Eve with me in Columbia before heading back to St. Louis.

This has been a crazy year for me. I have the flat stomach that I’ve always dreamed of. I have spent a fortune on clothes like never before. I embarked on one of the hardest things I’ve ever done physically and mentally in my life…training to run 26.2 miles. I still get excited and stressed thinking about it. I also received sad news this year from my brother Jimmy.

I have eaten badly and drank too much.

This year has taught me so much more about my self than the rest of my years.

I am not sure what 2015 will bring but I will try very hard to appreciate every moment and live in the present and not worry about the future like I tend to do.

Happy New Year 2015!

12 thoughts on “And So It Ends….2014

  1. Happy New Year’s Eve!! You seriously rocked 2014 and I absolutely 100% cannot wait to read more and more of your posts in 2015!! You’re a beautiful, vivacious woman with so much heart!! You have the power and soul to do anything and everything you set your mind to and I’m so very proud of you!! You are gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous!!! Have a fabulous start to 2015!! XOXO

  2. Happy New Year, Charlotte! Wow, that was a great year. I’m so happy to know you through WordPress because you are so inspiring to me. I love your honesty too. Here’s to hoping that the coming year with all it’s anticipated issues will still be an awesome year overall. This year you’ve gained a lot of strength and insight that will go a long way.

  3. Dear Charlotte: One word – WOW!!!!! Can I be like you when I grow up? (lol) Your year in 2014 had some fabulous milestones and reading about them make me super proud! You sound like a phenomenal person anyway whatever you weigh, but knowing that you achieved personal goals that YOU set for yourself is truly special. Looking forward to reading more about your life. Hugs…www.intheknowwithro.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

