Happy Epiphany to Me

All my adult life, I have wondered why I love all things Mardi Gras.

I love the season, the foods, the jazz, the partying, the beads, floats, King Cake, hurricanes, boobs, masquerade masks….the whole shit and shebang!

A few years ago, I found out that I was born on “Feast of Epiphany” also known as “Twelfth Night.” (January 6).

Though Mardi Gras technically refers only to Fat Tuesday, the Mardi Gras season actually begins on Epiphany, a Christian holiday celebrated on January 6 that is otherwise known as Three Kings Day or the Twelfth Day of Christmas. In Brazil and many other countries, this period between Epiphany and Fat Tuesday is known as Carnival. Whichever name you prefer to use, the revelries of Mardi Gras last until midnight tonight, when Ash Wednesday ushers in 40 days of Lent.

I am  not catholic or even religious so I don’t know why I love it.

I am already making plans to celebrate the season. Many people do not know this but St. Louis hosts the 2nd biggest Mardi Gras in the United States. I have been in the middle of that celebration for many years.

1977398_10152273338270505_1202772613_n 1488021_10152271904715505_1169673329_n 1622608_10152271900925505_460497023_n 1969379_10152271393910505_1729952828_n 1912155_10152271323515505_1949849341_n

I’ll take Daniel and Sadie to the kids Mardi Gras celebration and parade on January 24. I have a “Run for Your Beads” 5k on Feb 7. And going to the big Mardi Gras street party on February 14. I’ll drink a little, eat a lot especially the King Cake.

So today I am 55 years old and Happy Epiphany to me! I did all the usual things I do on my birthday. I got up at 4:45am. Drove 40 minutes to work. I worked a 11 hour day. I drove home. Fed the dogs. Ran on the treadmill. Hit the boxing bag. Showered. Laid on the couch and watched the St. Louis Blues Hockey.

“Happy Birthday to a person that is charming, talented and witty and reminds me a lot of myself.”

9 thoughts on “Happy Epiphany to Me

  1. Ohhhh my gosh Charlotte, HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you!!! I wish I cold give you a big birthday hug!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHARLOTTE!!! YOU ROCK!!! YOU’RE THE BEST!! YOU’RE GORGEOUS!! YOU’RE SUPER COOL!!
    Wanna know something fabulous??? My husband is 41 today!! It’s his birthday, too!!! Oh yeah!!! Looooove it!!!
    Hugs and kisses!!! XOXO

  2. I’m late with the birthday wishes, but hope it was fab! Really enjoy the pics and Mardi Gras celebration. Very fun! Hugs…www.intheknowwithro.blogspot.com

  3. Happy belated birthday, Charlotte! How fun to have weeks of celebrating going on with all your Mardi Gras events. I was surpised to learn that St. Louis has so much going on for it, wow. Enjoy!

    1. Thank you, Cynthia! There is a lot going on this time of year for me. It is also my favorite time of the year to run so I have a lot lined up! I’ll throw in a couple of parties for good measure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

