Getting Fit Shouldn’t Be a Punishment

My mouth always gets me in trouble at anytime the subject comes up of how to lose weight. Now, obviously to me, I am an authority! 🙂

And why? Because I have done it. I took my weight from 288 + lbs to 161 lbs +/- a few.

I say that a bit of tongue in cheek because of course that doesn’t make me an expert but I did find out the key to what works EVERY SINGLE TIME YOU DO IT!

When your body burns more calories than you consume, you will lose….no question about it and no credible argument against that.

Theoretically, 3500 calories is 1 pound. For my age, weight, etc…I can eat about 1800 calories a day and sit on my ass and not gain weight. At the same activity level, I can eat ~ 1250 calories a day and lose 1 lb per week.

If I run for 1 mile, I can burn approximately 100 calories. So if I run 3 miles each day, I can eat 1550 calories and still lose 1 lb. Simple, huh?

Ok, where I get in trouble with with people (husband plus members of my family) who believe they can lose weight other ways.

My kids like Paleo. My hubby is more vegetarian. I have tried them both and both can work but the reason is not because you are including or excluding certain foods. It is because of a calorie deficit that you may get eating or not eating those foods.

I also argue that a calorie is a calorie in regard to weight loss. A Cadbury egg is 150 calories. 2 scrambled eggs is 150 calories. It doesn’t matter calorie wise which you eat. Now the caveat is that some calories are better for you. I agree with that. I think eating healthy foods is the way to do it. No doubt. Some misunderstand me when I say that claiming that I am saying that a person should eat a Cadbury egg instead of scrambled eggs. That is not what I am saying.

cadbury-cream-egg

Also, some foods just make your body run better. Obviously, broiled fish is better for you than a fried piece of chicken. But calories are calories in the big picture.

Some calories make you feel fuller than others. For me, a bowl of oatmeal fills me up better than a donut and about the same calories per serving. But still, a calorie is a calorie.

And, healthier foods are lower in calories than junk! Bam!

My entire weight loss was eating healthy foods most of the time. I splurged on things I liked occasionally. It is very simple to live that way….for me. I cannot maintain a lifestyle where I have to always exclude some things I love. In other words, moderation is key.

I lost my weight in a manner than I can live. It wasn’t a diet and I never called it that. I made changes. I use myfitnesspal to track every bit of food and exercise that I do.

The best thing I’ve ever done for my health so far was buy that pair of Asic Nimbus running shoes….the best money I have ever spent….well, after my California King Tempurpedic bed!

Yes, sometimes I cannot resist things and gain weight. I gained about 4 lbs from Thanksgiving to Christmas by eating more calories than I burned. I displayed a lack of discipline. I don’t blame anyone or any food. I also took that 4 lbs off by eating less, exercising more.

I can’t live the paleo, keto, low carb, zone or vegetarian and enjoy my lifestyle. So I don’t. Yes, I’ve tried them and I lean more vegetarian than anything. Also, the older I get…the more I hate the thought of killing animals to eat. So maybe one day I might be there as a moral vegetarian. But for now, I’ll keep doing it the way that works for me.

I found something that works for me. It wasn’t easy but it was simple.

I try to eat healthy foods most of the time. I keep some snacky foods….I have 4 Cadbury Eggs in my cabinet right now. The good thing is that they have all been there for 9 days and I haven’t eaten one. But I can if I want.

It’s discipline. It’s the same with running. You have to show the discipline. And that statement is coming from a woman who lived her life with a lack of discipline!

If I eat a Cadbury egg, I many times find a way to burn 150 calories so I can live with the guilt.

Everyone who  knows me, know that I love being in control. I’m in control.

So just to summarize “Charlotte’s Philosophy” as to not be misunderstood:

~ eat fewer calories

~ eat breakfast

~ don’t skip meals

~ eat several times each day

~ drink water

~ buy good running shoes and hit the road

~ exercise more, push your limits…don’t be a whimp

~ eat good, healthy foods as much as possible

~ drink a little wine

~ don’t salt everything

~ do everything in moderation except love your family and play with puppies

~ eat a few things that are sinful (apple fritters and Cadbury eggs for me)

~ pay attention to what you eat, read food labels

~ count your calories daily no matter how high you have to count (be aware)

~ if you have a bad day, forgive yourself and move on

~ trade high heels for running shoes

~ live, live, live, live

~ love, love, love, love

~ run, run, run, run

13 thoughts on “Getting Fit Shouldn’t Be a Punishment

  1. Charlotte, you know how to write a post! Love this so soooo much, especially the live, love, and run!! 🙂 Oh aaand about playing tons with your puppies!! Yay!! Love that one the best! Reading food labels is so key!! Great tips as usual! You’re fabulously smart! Just the best! Have an amazing Tuesday! XOXO

  2. I love the advice! I’ve just set up my home gym again, and I’m starting to get back into the groove. You’re right, a calorie is a calorie, but it’s up to us to choose them wisely.

  3. I love reading your blog because you’re all about balance! I’m like you, I can’t 100% eliminate “bad” foods or good wine…that’s no way to live! 😉 but I do have a tendency to overeat and I’ve been trying to keep that in check. You have some nice practical tips that are good reminders for me to practice moderation in my diet!

  4. I totally agree with this post! Weight loss and being healthy is not rocket science! If you want to lose weight, eat less calories! And if you want to be healthy, eat healthy foods and exercise! No magic pills or powders, no diets. And every once in a while, eat the damn cupcake or french fries. 🙂

    1. Right! I love the feel of healthy much more than being thin and I never dreamed as an obese woman that I would feel that way. Healthy and thin is the lottery! ! lol But I am a social eater so if I couldn’t try good restaurants etc, I wouldn’t be happy. It’s all about balance. Thanks for commenting!

  5. Definitely need to be more healthy this year, and have been putting it on a back burner. Your blog gives good tips – like eating breakfast, which I usually don’t do. Thanks so much for sharing with such fun feedback. Hugs…www.intheknowwithro.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

