How to Piss Off a Runner

If you want to piss off a runner, publish a stupid-assed article that explains how running may be bad for you.

From WebMD ~ “Too Much Running Tied to Shorter Life Span

From UK Telegraph ~ “Fast running is as deadly as sitting on couch, scientists find

From Active.comWhy Too Much Running is Bad for Your Health”

From New York Daily News ~ “Running More Than 4 Miles a Day Could Be Bad for You

From Runner’s World  ~ ” Will Too Much Running Kill You?”

Now, honestly, these articles are not that bad. Most are just making the titles seem bad for shock value but the articles are not so wrong in my opinion. Of course running CAN hurt your health. So can other sports if done to a level that exceeds what your body can handle. Also, that level is a different bar with each runner.

“Too much exercise really can kill you, scientists have discovered, after finding runners who speed along at 7 mph or more are doing themselves more harm than good.” ~UK Telegraph

Now first off, 7 mph or more?? WTF? I better slow down 🙂

Or

” However, the health benefits of exercise seemed to diminish among people who ran more than 20 miles a week, more than six days a week, or faster than eight miles an hour. The sweet spot appears to be five to 19 miles per week at a pace of six to seven miles per hour, spread throughout three or four sessions per week.” ~ Active.com

I’m in that sweet spot (5-19 miles) except during the marathon training where I reached 44 miles in one week near the taper period.


There are thousands of legitimate articles that explain how running is great for your health but those few published that are slamming running is pissing us off!

Each runner knows their own facts and their body’s limit. (hopefully)

But for me, running saved my life literally. And on a daily basis, it calms me down and helps de-stress me. I feel alive while I’m running in a way that I can’t explain to anyone.  I am aware of my entire body. Runner’s know what I mean.

I can’t even properly explain how running a hard 1 or 2 hour-long run makes me feel once I’m finished and showered. I actually glow. My skin looks better. My husband makes that comment to me all the time. I’m happier. I laugh more. I feel amazing. I can’t explain…it just does.

I run 5 days a week. A couple of those days are very hard and long. I am not any different from others. I try each day to find a really good reason not to do my run. And I have a busy life also. I leave for work at 5:45am and get home at 5:45pm. Just because I don’t have kids at home doesn’t mean that I am not busy. I could easily not do that threshold run for 45 minutes. There can always be an excuse. I don’t have time to run, I make time to run.

But, those type negative running articles give other’s the excuse they need to sit on their asses watching American Idol. I can’t tell you how many people who I didn’t even know read shit, quote some article to me about how running will hurt me.

I want to say…are you fucking kidding me? Running makes me a good and healthy person. I want to say why don’t you get your ass out and do some exercise and you won’t be calling in sick so much on workdays…or weigh so much you can barely walk.

One of my current fears is that my grandchildren will not grow up learning just how good running is for you. It will open doors! Not just running but all exercise.

Daniel is at an age now that he would prefer to sit and play video games than get outside. I can’t even express how down that makes me feel. I want Daniel to run marathons, swim, bike, play sports, climbs mountains, ski, dive, marry an athletic woman and raise athletic kids. I want Daniel to feel invincible.

And for Sadie (who turns 2 today). I want that little girl to burn this world up. I want her to run in the Chicago, London or Boston Marathon. I want her to be lean, healthy and self-confident. I want her to marry a man who runs with her. Who is proud of her. I want her kids to look up to her.

So for anyone who believes that exercise or running in particular is bad for you….go ahead and sit on your ass and getting fatter and fatter…resting heart-rate at 90 or more.  Make yourself feel good that you are doing something healthy by not running. You can almost assure that your kids will be the same way.

I’m on Week 7, Day 3 of Half Marathon training. I’ll be ready for Go! St. Louis Half Marathon on April 12. 🙂

I even made an application to the NYC Marathon for November 01. I applied to be in the lottery. I’ll know in March if I am lucky enough to get in. It’s a long shot…but who knows. 🙂

I still have to pinch myself ….. I ran a marathon!

Sadie (2 years ago today) and Daniel. :-)
Sadie (2 years ago today) and Daniel. 🙂

♥~Happy Birthday, Sadie~♥

5 thoughts on “How to Piss Off a Runner

  1. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you to get in the NYC Marathon! I have a co-worker who has ran it with her husband! She is awesome and has been giving me advice about my upcoming marathon training! I’m so sad because she’ll be leaving us at the end of the month. She has been such a great running mentor for me and I’ll miss talking running with her. 😦
    Anywho, I completely agree with you about running being life-changing. Not only does it keep me in good physical shape and is instant therapy for me when I’m having a bad or stressful day, it has also taught me to push myself and do things that I never thought I was capable of! Even if science discovered that running really was bad for you, I don’t think I would stop doing it. That’s how much I love it!

    1. It would be great to get to run the NYC marathon. I can’t say it’s a life long dream because I never dreamed I could run 3 miles! lol I am with you. If I knew running might hurt my health, I’d still have to run. I know with my age, my running will get harder but I’ll do it until I can’t! I like that running meme I saw on Pinterest “One day I won’t be able to run, but today is not that day” 🙂

  2. It would be great to get to run the NYC marathon. I can’t say it’s a life long dream because I never dreamed I could run 3 miles! lol I am with you. If I knew running might hurt my health, I’d still have to run. I know with my age, my running will get harder but I’ll do it until I can’t! I like that running meme I saw on Pinterest “One day I won’t be able to run, but today is not that day” 🙂

Leave a Reply

