On Such a Winter’s Day

I’m in a rut and having a hard time getting out of it.

Work has been crazy. I am working more hours. Up at 4:45 am and getting home at 6:00 pm is getting old. Ice and snow all around making everything more depressing.

My only option is treadmill running and I hate it. I don’t get the same satisfaction out of a treadmill run as a road run.

I went 7 days without running and I didn’t even go that long after the marathon.

My eating habits are fairly good with the exception of donut day at work! šŸ™‚

Last week, I got home late. Fed the dogs. Showered and in bed by 8:30pm so it seems like the past week was a waste.

I did get in a good run Friday and a long run this morning but still on the treadmill because of all the ice and snow on the ground. I don’t mind running in snow and in fact like it but I won’t do ice. At 55 years old, I do have to worry about falling.

I’ve been running since 2010 and haven’t had a real serious injury (knock wood) and hope to keep it that way until I can’t run anymore.

For the first time in the last 5 years, I am starting to feel my age. I see more wrinkles and gray hair by the day. I think it’s the weather putting me in this funk but I did wake up this morning with the realization of just how close I am to 60.

My health is good. I’m physically fit and happy with my life but I am thinking much more about my mortality. Maybe it’s the dreariness of the weather. Maybe it’s because I am facing the early death of my brother. I dunno.

Last Saturday, Kevin and I celebrated Mardi Gras in a big way in St. Louis! I ate and drank too much. I actually tied one on! I can’t do that again. I felt bad for a couple of days!

 

10959301_10153070761640505_6422970507675925239_n 10366217_10153070762410505_8268977020378511880_n

 

I guess everyone has to let loose every now and then.

I have a few upcoming runs that I am looking forward to. March 14 – St. Patrick’s Day 5 Mile run. March 28 is the Boots and Badges 5k to benefit families of fallen police and firemen.

Then April 12 is the Go! St. Louis Half Marathon.

I plan on finding a marathon to run in the fall. If I am lucky, my name may be drawn to run in the NYC Marathon. That would be incredible!

I will get back on track. I’ve had this happen before.

Hurry up Spring!

Kevin and I had date night tonight. We went to see “American Sniper” and went to dinner.

I’m laid up now on my sofa with 2 sweet dogs surrounding me.

That’s my happy place…….

10168073_10153080008045505_5247369637791053576_n

 

8 thoughts on “On Such a Winter’s Day

  1. Aww what a sweet dog! Looks like you had a fun Mardi Gras! I actually ran a Mardi Gras themed race today and some people had outfits like yours! It was fun. It also looks like you have some fun races planned. šŸ™‚ Racing always motivates me too after a hiatus no matter how short.

    1. My dogs are my babies šŸ™‚ A couple of weeks ago, we ran in a “Run for Your Beads” Mardi Gras theme and I love it! haha When I have races already lined up, I am more motivated. Thanks for your comment. šŸ™‚

  2. Looks like a great weekend, Charlotte! I love sitting on the coach with my dog at the end of the day. It kind of puts an exclamation on a wonderful day. Thanks for sharing the photos!

    1. Rob, that weekend was a little too great. So great that I don’t remember getting home! haha My dogs are often the best part of my day. I am a Ops manager in manufacturing in a high growth company so my works days are often crap! haha

  3. I’m with you – running on the treadmill sucks big time, but I also don’t want to take the chance of hitting a patch of ice and slipping. I slipped on the ice last year and hit my head and got a concussion and luckily it was just in my driveway close to home. I can’t imagine if it happened if I was miles away from my house. Not taking that chance, so it’s the treadmill until everything melts away. Winter seems to suck the energy out of me. I need warmth and sunshine and every winter it seems to get worse! I’m definitely moving somewhere warmer when I retire!
    I think you look fabulous and I love how you enjoy life! You inspire me and so many others! šŸ™‚

    1. I’m with you! My husband and I have Santa Cruz, CA lined up for our retirement! haha That’s where he’s from and my favorite place in the US. I just daydream about beach running. šŸ™‚ Thank you. I do enjoy life…that weekend a little too much. I am humbled and flattered that I might inspire you or anyone. Thank you.

  4. LOL I can’t stand treadmill running, but that’s where I’ve been the last couple of weeks! This February has been awful in New York state (and we haven’t gotten as much as Boston, thank God!). I see runners out there, but I just can’t get motivated. The streets are narrow with snow and it’s wet. I’d rather run in the rain! šŸ™‚

    1. I bet you are sick of the winter in NY. We haven’t had so much but plenty of ice which is worse….at least for running. I also see hardcore runners out there but I do worry about slipping and falling. Yeah, I love running in the rain also šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

