Sometimes I Fartlek, Sometimes I Just Fart

I’m approaching this winter funk with a different attitude as of this morning.

I’m going to stop whining and using excuses and do what I can to beat these winter blues.

Below is a great article to help with those long runs on the treadmill.

 “7 Tips for Running Long on the Treadmill

Yesterday was a 45 minute fartlek run. That totally wears me out to the point of exhaustion! 🙂 That word still makes me laugh a little.

Fartleks are a bit harder on the treadmill because you have to take time to change speeds up and down but it’s doable. I got as high as 6.8 mph.

I heard an instructor on Kevin’s spinning video say “You can do ANYTHING for 30 seconds.” She’s right so I went 60 seconds at a time. 🙂 I’d drop it down, drop the heart rate…back up. Then repeat at varying speeds and times.

My husband does laugh at me because it does seem I pass gas quiet a bit while running on that treadmill. He spins and sweats, I run and fart. Did I mention I am a bean and fruit eater!

Today was week 9, day 7 of Half Marathon training and I spent 93.22 minutes on that treadmill! The first 70 minutes was spent in Zone 2 running. Which is my favorite..of course! haha  And then the last 20 minutes spend in Z4 threshold. That was hard after 70 minutes in the top of Z2.

I burned 821 calories.

Tomorrow is Pilates and rest.

I walked the dogs. I ran. I cleaned house. I did 2 loads of laundry.

Kevin is making glazed salmon, asparagus and sweet potatoes for dinner.

I miss Daniel and Sadie terribly. I haven’t seen them in a few weeks. Daniel is sick today with a fever. I really miss being in Daniel’s life day-to-day like the old days when he lived right up the street.

If the weather gets a little better, I’ll go see them next weekend.

It did feel good to stay home in Columbia with Kevin and my dogs this weekend.

Now, back at those long days at work. It comes too soon.

Time/life flies….

I’m re-charged…..bring it on!

2 thoughts on “Sometimes I Fartlek, Sometimes I Just Fart

  1. Thanks for the article link about long runs on the treadmill. I’m supposed to do a virtual half-marathon this weekend and the forecast is calling for snow and so I will most likely have to do the run on the treadmill. Instead of dreading it, I’m going to try to look forward to the Netflix I’ll be able to watch. Right now, I’m watching the series, Arrow, which is really good! I’m also recovering from a cold (still feeling crappy), so I can take my time and stop and rest, get a drink, use the bathroom, etc., if I have to, which is one of the nice perks about having a treadmill at home!
    Have a great week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

