Let’s Get Physical

Back in the 80’s, I was an exercise fanatic. I worked out and I particularly loved aerobics. Step aerobics was my favorite.

I was always fond of a particular step that I used back then and last week I found it on Ebay and ordered it! I was like a 20-year-old again wearing a leotard, headband and leg warmers. 🙂

It was called the “Super Step.” The person instructing on the video was Brenda Dygraf. I recently watched the video on YouTube and I remember every step! And it is so 80s. 🙂

Eli and the Super Step

Eli and Superstep

I am a runner training for a half marathon in April but I really need to incorporate other types of exercise in my routine.

I hate yoga….there I said it! I’ve tried them, pilates, PiYo and I just can’t or won’t stay committed to it. I was thinking that maybe I need to take a yoga class and that might teach me but I’m shy and very uncoordinated.

I can run for 5 hours but I can’t bend down and tie my shoes so I need to do other things for overall fitness.

I kept to my training schedule this week despite not being able to run outside. I have become treadmill soft and that worries me because I have a St. Patrick’s Day 5 miler in St. Louis in a couple of weeks and that might be a challenge!

And after my “Super Step” arrived yesterday, of course I had to try it out. And I burned 150 calories in 20 minutes so not bad….but I guess I strained a ligament in my ankle and had pain all night! I guess I forgot that I wasn’t in my 20’s anymore when I was doing the step aerobics.

After some sleep and an ice pack, my ankle seems fine. I ran 47 minutes on my treadmill doing intervals and fartleks and then I did a 30 minute routine on the Super Step.

There are great step aerobic workouts on youtube so I found a more modern one and “got physical.”

Kevin and I got grocery and went downtown and ate Thai food…one of my favorites.

Phad Thai - Bangkok Gardens

Phad Thai from Bangkok Gardens

I came home, got in pajamas and have been laying around with my puppies all afternoon and night. That’s always a good place for me.

Lazy, Spoiled Asses (Peyton and Eli)

 

 ~RIP Leonard Nimoy ~ Live Long and Prosper~

5 thoughts on “Let’s Get Physical

  1. I have a hard time getting into yoga too. I do short 20-30 min yoga routines because I know I need to improve my flexibility, bit the whole time I’m repeating, “oh my god, when will this be done!” I used to love step aerobics too! What a fun “throw back” workout and great way to mix things up! 🙂

Leave a comment