I’m In, Dammit! Now what?

A while back, I registered the lottery to enter the Bank of American Chicago Marathon…..well, I received my congratulations email yesterday!!!!!

Yikes!!!

Truthfully, I was hoping that I didn’t get in. I thought it was a longshot. I entered the lottery for the NY Marathon and didn’t get in so I thought I wouldn’t get in here.

After receiving it, I was nervous and gave some thought to not completing the registration process.

But after reading all the excitement and disappointments of my runner friends who got in and who did not, I became excited.

So…I completed the registration and God willing and body holding up, I’ll be a Chicago Marathoner! ๐Ÿ™‚

Chicago MarathonChicago -1

I really and not sure that I can endure the rigorous training schedule but if I didn’t try, I’d be very disappointed in myself.

So the 18 week training begins in mid June. I have not yet decided on which training program but I still like Hal Higdon’s training method: Novice 2 or Intermediate I. Intermediate I has two 20 mile long runs and the Novice 2 has only 1. Although I would prefer one of those, I think two 20 milers will be beneficial. Anywho,ย But I’ll do a bit of research for a few weeks.

Also, I’m getting strict about my calories the next few weeks to take off about 10 lbs or so before the training begins.

I am a happier, more disciplined runner when I am training. I even find myself slacking when I don’t train.

I did get in a beautiful 7 mile trail run this weekend on “Grant’s Trail.” Kevin and I ran with Peyton and Eli. We stopped and played with the Budweiser Clydesdales and I took a short tour through Grant’s Cabin. Most of the run was serious but we took some nice detours.

Selfies with Clydesdales
Selfies with Clydesdales

I spent time with Daniel exploring Forest Park. I visited with Sadie for a little girl time.

11193229_10153240613885505_5405784263155950570_n

Kevin and I bottled our “2 Brown Dogs” Strawberry wine and Blueberry Port that has been in our basement for over a year. The labels are my design featuring my 2 Brown Dogs: Peyton and Eli.

"2 Brown Dogs" Wine
“2 Brown Dogs” Wine

11193371_10153244673950505_6010426255276134480_n

The labels go on the “2 Brown Dogs” Blueberry Port tonight.

11107744_10153247741715505_7857562745973076085_n

Kevin and I got a little buzzed on our own brew Sunday night while bottling! ๐Ÿ™‚

Daniel is coming to spend the weekend with us in ย Columbia and I’m as giddy as a little girl! ย We will fish and hike. We’ll take him to his favorite places. I’ll cover him with all the attention that he can stand. I’ll go get him tomorrow late afternoon and drive back to CoMo. I’ll return him to his parents on Sunday afternoon.

That is all…..

~Run Wild and Free~

11 thoughts on “I’m In, Dammit! Now what?

  1. Congrats!! I’m excited to have some virtual training buddies as we head into the summer. I’m looking also at a training program from Matt Fitzgerald that I might use, or I might go with one of the two you mentioned. So excited!

    Are you in Columbia, MO? I am heading down there next weekend on my way out to Manhattan, KS. My husband got a job in Manhattan, so I’m moving there!

    1. I do live in Columbia, MO!! I live part time in St. Louis also. I’ve been to Manhattan KS! Is this your first marathon? This will be my second. I ran my first last Oct RnR St. Louis. Hardest, most rewarding thing I’ve done. I will check out Fitzgerald training. Good luck on your move and your training. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Yeah, it is. I’m really excited, and pretty nervous. Fitzgerald’s plan is mostly by time, not by distance (except long runs). I like it and PRed with his plan on a half.

        I’m glad to have a blogging friend in my new neck of the woods. I’ve actually never been to Manhattan KS, so this move will really be an adventure!

      2. Summer training was brutal! I run much better in the cold. I don’t know why I keep signing up for summer long runs! After the training, the marathon is easy peasy ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congrats on the Chicago Marathon! I’m so excited for you! I actually just got back from a professional conference in Chicago and I just love it there! I even got to run on the Lake Shore Trail, which was awesome!
    Love the label that you created for your wines! You’re so creative! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I’m very nervous and apprehensive about training for another marathon. I really want to say that I ran the Chicago marathon but I don’t want the training! haha I hope your training is going well. When is the big day? I need to catch up on your blog entries. Thanks for the wine label compliment! I will still tweak them a bit. I’m never satisfied! ๐Ÿ™‚ Wine was pretty good too.

Leave a Reply

