A Love Letter to a Non-Running Runner

This is something that I have been keenly aware of for several years. I love this man but I can’t stand him as a running partner. He doesn’t read my blog posts so maybe I can get away with this.

In case he sees it, you are a wonderful man. You got me through marathon training as well as anything else in my life. You are my friend, playmate and partner. J

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dear Sweet, Loving Husband,

Running with you sucks badly.

  • You complain constantly
  • I’m running to fast
  • Too many hills
  • Not the right route you wanted
  • I don’t take enough walk breaks
  • It’s too cold
  • It’s too hot
  • You are sick
  • You are tired

You never push yourself. You never challenge yourself. When you get tired, you complain. You run often and have run several half marathons but you never train. You never set challenging goals.

How can you get any better if you don’t run past your tiredness? That’s when you make improvements. Geez!!

And after it’s over, most runners (whether it was a shitty or great run) feel exhilarated and glad they did it…a bit euphoric

Not you, my love….

You complain for hours afterwards. I try to tune you out, it’s hard when I want to celebrate

  • Your feet hurt
  • Your head hurts
  • You are tired
  • That was too much
  • Wonk…wonk…wonk…wonk….wonk


I didn’t ask you to go…well, maybe I did but it was a gratuitous gesture on my part. I didn’t expect you to take me up on it…but you did, sadly.

My initial thought was “oh, shit” – it’s going to be an unenjoyable experience but then I said “relax” it will be fun.

It wasn’t. You kill my joy of running.

I love you dearly but don’t ever run with me again.

Love Always,

Your Wife

2 thoughts on “A Love Letter to a Non-Running Runner

  1. I kinda feel the same way about my husband. He won’t run alone and he never runs regularly, so when he does decide to run, it’s with me, and then he complains how tired he is, or how he thinks he might need a different pair of shoes, and “Oh God, my chest hurts, I can’t breathe” and I just want to say to him that if he ran on a regular basis and followed a training plan, that he would feel better about running. Oh wait. I did say that to him. And it went in one ear and out the other. I will have to say, though, that he’s been my biggest supporter and I do love him to death, but sometimes I want to kill him, especially when we run together. 🙂

    1. lol We sound so similar. I just wish he would train and not wing it. lol He rode his bike along side me on the marathon training and he was wonderful. I know he took a lot of abuse on my long runs during the summer! I love him and never want to live without him. I don’t want to run with him. haha

Leave a Reply

