Chicago Marathon Training – A Do Over

This time last year, I was very excited to have been accepted into the Chicago Marathon.

I had just PR’d in the Go! St. Louis Half Marathon after shortly finishing my first, the Rock ‘n Roll St. Louis Full Marathon.

As a runner, I was on top of the world.

So, I put together a training plan for the Chicago and started on my awesome way. I made hotel reservations and believe me, that’s not cheap!

But life happened.

After some management leaving our company, my weekly hours increased by 30% leaving me with no time to run early in the morning nor late at night. Not to mention I was so tired that I fell in bed every night and had to drag out at 4:30am every morning.

And, my little brother Jimmy was suffering in his last days of cancer. He lost that battle in September of last year.

Running just became one of my stressors. I really started to resent running. It used to be my stress reliever became a big part of my problem. So after some good advice, I had to clean some things off my plate. Work had to happen and sadly, my brother was dying. So the marathon training had to go.

I read that you could defer the Chicago one year. You don’t get a refund of the $180 and would have to pay that again to reactivate the following year. So after struggling with that decision, that is what I did…I deferred. It did help some.

Guess what? I’m back in even though I have some health issues looming over me right now.

But I’m going to work through that until Doctors say I cannot and even then, I will. J


I have an appointment with a surgeon on May 12. I have a stricture (blockage) of the sigmoid colon that needs surgery. I have been increasingly suffering from this since November 2015 when I first became aware of it. I’m still very nervous about this.

So my surgery and recovery will happen right smack assed as I am supposed to begin my 18-week training program which was to start the 2nd week in June.

On top of that, I have not been running as much due to the pain and pressure in my lower tummy.

So to try to mitigate the interruption with surgery and recovery, I’m starting early on my training. So that hopefully, being in better shape will make my surgery and recovery go better. And then hopefully, after recovering, I can get back in the training without missing out on too much.

Well, that’s my plan anyway. I suspect my plan may fall on its face but I’m moving on as though all will be fine.

I’ll be tracking my training on a link on my page “Chicago Marathon Training.”

I guess it comes down to a simple choice, really. Get busy living or get busy dying.” ~ Andy Dufresne (Shawshank Redemption)

2 thoughts on “Chicago Marathon Training – A Do Over

  1. You’ve got this! We’ve both got this! Just keep putting one foot in front of the other. My new motto is EMBRACE THE SUCK! lol But I just keep thinking about how much fun Chicago is going to be. Sending lots of healing, positive vibes your way for a smooth, quick recovery. Eat lots of plants! They will help your body heal, too! ❤

Leave a Reply

