2016…a Wild Rollercoaster Ride


Each year I try to summarize my year whether good or bad…..here goes!

  • I turned 56 years old
  • I interviewed for a job in near San Francisco that didn’t pan out
  • I spent almost 2 weeks of this past year in the hospital
  • I had a cancer scare
  • I had colon surgery where the surgeon removed 12 inches of my lower colon
  • I became slightly hooked on pain pills for the first time in my life (I’m clean now)
  • I started training for the Chicago Marathon 3 weeks after major surgery.
  • I sadly went a whole year without seeing my sisters (Barb, Janice, Bev) and

    brother (Barry)

  • I spent another year enjoying my grandchildren which I never take for

    granted

  • I was blessed another year with a son and daughter in law who are doing a good job raising the most important things in my life and keeping them healthy and

    happy

  • I was rewarded with another year loving and being loved by my furry children (Peyton and Eli)
  • I had my DNA tested and found out that I’m 36% British, 25% Irish, 19% Western European, 9% Eastern European, 6% Scandinavian, 2% Iberian Peninsula and not a

    smitch of Native American blood which I grew up believing that I did

  • I was pleased to spend another year with my best friend, playmate and lover (Kevin)
  • I ran my 2nd marathon in a beautiful, big city…Love Chicago! (Chicago Marathon)
  • I spent time with, ran with and ran the freaking Chicago Marathon with a good friend whom I had never met in person before this year.
  • I experienced a Lou Malnati’s pizza in Chicago
  • I stood under the Big Bean in Chicago
  • I spent another year in love
  • I visited Buddy Holly’s crash site in Clear Lake, Iowa
  • I was less fit than the year before
  • I unfortunately became more unhealthy
  • I continually realized how lucky I am that I met and married Kevin
  • I had a tough, frustrating and rewarding summer training for the Chicago Marathon
  • I spent another 8 days in my favorite place in the world…Santa Cruz!!
  • I hiked in a forest of Redwoods and touched a Sequoia
  • I enjoyed the wild and crazy election season!
  • I was jubilant that the crime family didn’t get into power on the Nov 8 election (I still pinch myself over this)
  • I continue to realize that our current government has betrayed us deliberately
  • I was surprised when my son penned a Mother’s Day post to me that made me cry. I never thought it possible.
  • I ran on beaches in California including a yearly 4k along the coastline on trails
  • I sat and listened to sea lions bark for hours again (one of my favorite California things)
  • I watched a Los Lobos concert while riding a sky lift over a boardwalk
  • I continue to believe that my dogs make me a better human being
  • I felt myself aging quickly this year
  • I still grieved over losing Jimmy
  • I missed Tennessee badly
  • I came to believe that the country has become irreparably divided by race
  • I feared for our protectors…135 police officers died in 2016…up 250% from prior year
  • I was lucky to still have a job that pays well
  • I lost 2 cousins this year who died way too young
  • I was paid for an article that I wrote about my weight loss and running journey as a contributing writer to an online health magazine and have an offer to write another.
  • I lived another year in both my home in Columbia, Mo and an apartment in St. Louis, Mo
  • I spent the best week of my year with Daniel at Camp MyMy in Columbia
  • I visited Daniel at his Summer Camp…his first
  • I gave money to charities and not a single penny to a politician
  • I ran my favorite races this year (Run for Your Beads, St. Patrick’s Day 5 Miler, Macklind Mile and the Chicago Marathon)
  • I dropped out of a Half Marathon (Go! St. Louis) due to health. It’s the first time that I registered and paid for a race that I didn’t run
  • I cherished another “Grand-Friends” day at Daniel’s school
  • I spent more money on dogs this past year than people and that makes me feel good
  • I watched the “Nutcracker Ballet Live” with Sadie and Allison
  • I enjoyed another year at Mardi Gras in St. Louis with Kevin and didn’t get as drunk as the year before
  • I cried when Alan Rickman died
  • I was sad when David Bowie, Meryl Haggard, Prince, Gene Wilder, Carrie Fisher and George Michael died

This has been a rollercoaster ride of a year for sure. For the most part, I enjoyed it. But a quote from one of my all-time favorite movies “Parenthood” – the one with Steve Martin, not that knock off crap show, sums up the 2016 ride ~


I continue to be blessed more than I deserve. I never take that for granted. My life is far from perfect but without the downs, the ups would not seem as special. I never forget that. My only hope for 2017 is that my friends, family and I stay active and healthy.

I am very optimistic about 2017 both for the country and for myself.

2017……bring it!

5 thoughts on “2016…a Wild Rollercoaster Ride

Leave a Reply

